How Long, O Lord…?

O LORD, rebuke me not in your anger, nor discipline me in your wrath. Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am languishing; heal me, O LORD, for my bones are troubled. My soul also is greatly troubled. But you, O LORD–how long? Turn, O LORD, deliver my life; save me for the sake of your steadfast love. For in death there is no remembrance of you; in Sheol who will give you praise? I am weary with my moaning; every night I flood my bed with tears; I drench my couch with my weeping.
Psalms 6:1-6 ESV

One thought on “How Long, O Lord…?

  1. Savage says:

    [His Steadfast Love Endures Forever]

    [118:1] Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
    for his steadfast love endures forever!

    [2] Let Israel say,
    “His steadfast love endures forever.”
    [3] Let the house of Aaron say,
    “His steadfast love endures forever.”
    [4] Let those who fear the LORD say,
    “His steadfast love endures forever.”

    [5] Out of my distress I called on the LORD;
    the LORD answered me and set me free.
    [6] The LORD is on my side; I will not fear.
    What can man do to me?
    [7] The LORD is on my side as my helper;
    I shall look in triumph on those who hate me.

    [8] It is better to take refuge in the LORD
    than to trust in man.
    [9] It is better to take refuge in the LORD
    than to trust in princes.

    [10] All nations surrounded me;
    in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
    [11] They surrounded me, surrounded me on every side;
    in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
    [12] They surrounded me like bees;
    they went out like a fire among thorns;
    in the name of the LORD I cut them off!
    [13] I was pushed hard, so that I was falling,
    but the LORD helped me.

    [14] The LORD is my strength and my song;
    he has become my salvation.
    [15] Glad songs of salvation
    are in the tents of the righteous:
    “The right hand of the LORD does valiantly,
    [16] the right hand of the LORD exalts,
    the right hand of the LORD does valiantly!”

    [17] I shall not die, but I shall live,
    and recount the deeds of the LORD.
    [18] The LORD has disciplined me severely,
    but he has not given me over to death.

    [19] Open to me the gates of righteousness,
    that I may enter through them
    and give thanks to the LORD.
    [20] This is the gate of the LORD;
    the righteous shall enter through it.
    [21] I thank you that you have answered me
    and have become my salvation.
    (Psalm 118:1-21 ESV)

Leave a Reply

