The Harvest



Image originally uploaded by kevin mcneal

“Do not give dogs what is holy, and do not throw your pearls before pigs, lest they trample them underfoot and turn to attack you.
Matthew 7:6 ESV

Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest.”
Matthew 9:37-38 ESV

I started reading the book of Matthew on Sunday, and it’s been great. Before I start reading, I have started to pray and ask the Lord to teach me, and He has been faithful to do that. As I was reading Matthew 9:37-38, I grew convicted and have been thinking about that passage ever since. I thought over Matthew 9:37-38 along with Matthew 7:6 and remembered the time spent in the past debating the Faith while hundreds of souls walked by without hearing the Gospel.

One particular moment stands out in my mind. In Philadelphia, there’s quite the rainbow of religion. It is normal to see Jewish men wearing their yarmulkes, Muslim women adorned in full garb with only eyes visible, Mormons in white shirts and black slacks going door to door, Muslim men with long beards who are careful to not let their pants touch the ground, and many more. There are also the Hebrew Israelites, men who stand on the corners and shout loudly. One day after church, some friends and I were at a local food place. We saw the Hebrew Israelites standing outside and being the zealous ones that we were, we went outside to engage them – a group of brothers and sisters of various races. We debated with them on their faulty interpretations of Scripture, pleaded with them, begged with them, yelled at them (graciously), and debated some more. As we spent time with these men who had no desire to hear what we said, hundreds of people walked by without being engaged. We were in the perfect spot too! Near a college campus, outside of a popular food place, right by the subway, on the most traveled street in Philadelphia. When I look on that now, I cringe. There are so many people who need to hear, and are ready to hear, the Gospel, yet we debate and try to drive God’s Word into people who just aren’t open to hearing it.

As I walked around Dallas today, I wondered to myself, Is he ready? Is she ready? Do they need to hear the Gospel today? The passage haunted me! All day!

I felt compelled to blog about it. Christians – the harvest is PLENTIFUL!!! But the laborers are FEW! Let’s labor for the Kingdom and get the Gospel out to the lost and the unsaved!

Leave a Reply

