Taking Notes from the Sparrow


photo by Elnias / sxc.hu

I am a huge fan of nature. I love seeing God’s handiwork. I am constantly impressed by the Lord’s creativity in the world. One particular creature that I watch often is the sparrow. They are everywhere. I can watch them near my job, my home, the gym, my church… wherever.

Yesterday evening, as I sat in my car, I leaned back and watched the sparrows as they hopped around on the power line, chirping and communicating with one another. I looked at the corner of the nearby building and saw a makeshift nest where another sparrow was sitting. Wow, I thought. They go about life without a care in the world. They just live, not worrying about what to make their nests out of, where they will sleep, what they will eat. They live. And while they’re living, they come across food on the ground that my Father provided them. They weren’t worried about finding food; it seems like they just know that it will be there, and so they don’t concern themselves with it. They hop about, they chirp, they sing.

And so, I thought – Take a lesson from the sparrow. If the Lord takes care of them, how much more will He provide my needs? The Bible teaches us this:

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.
Matthew 10:29-31 ESV

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.
Matthew 6:25-34 ESV

Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds!
Luke 12:24 ESV

I desire to be like the sparrow, and to have the same faith that they have in God’s provision. May I live my life and trust Him to provide in due time. May I remember how He cares for them, and how much more He cares for me.

One thought on “Taking Notes from the Sparrow

  1. […] dropped an icicle on you yet Sara, have I?  And I don’t plan to, so chill out.” That’s a familiar one. But He also wanted to talk about letting go.  Trusting in when is the right time for an icicle to […]

Leave a Reply

