Adventures with God

Monday morning, my new phone, which I have had for less than 3 weeks, decided to malfunction on me. As I was getting ready for work, I noticed it kept trying to hotsync; it was NOWHERE near a computer, nevertheless plugged into one. I turned it off, thinking to myself that surely – that would fix it, but nope – it didn’t! As I drove to work, my phone continued to attempt to hotsync. When I got to work, I hotsynced it to my computer, thinking that if I did that, maybe it would ‘get it out of its system’, but alas – The phone ended up turning off and never coming back on. Great! I called ATT to get a replacement sent out, which they graciously overnighted. In the meanwhile, I googled this issue and found that it’s a common one with this particular phone… *sigh*… I hope I won’t run into this error again!

Anyhow, they overnighted by phone by Fedex. Normally, when I have received packages from ATT, they send it through a courier that leaves the package between the doors of my house. This was the only time that a signature was required. Fedex ended up coming during a time when no one was at the house, so they left a door tag. I called my housemate who informed me of this. I called Fedex and found out that the deliverer would be pack at the center by 6:30 and that they closed at 8. Great! I headed home, picked up the doortag, and headed out at about 6p. The Fedex center is in West Philly; I live nowhere near there, so I mapped it out on Google, and headed out. I confidently drove down the streets that I was familiar with. A little while later, after I’d made a left, I passed about 20 blocks and still didn’t see the street I was looking for! I started to whimper (and then said to myself – Jenn, really?) then lamented because I couldn’t make a phone call OR use GoogleMaps on my phone to help me navigate!

I pulled over to a Rite-Aid and asked an employee how to get there, and let me say – what he said didn’t line up with what I saw as I drove along. Somehow, after looping around, I ran into the street I was looking for – Gray’s Ferry. I breathed a sigh of relief, and began to navigate my way to the Fedex center. Well, while looking for 36th street, I somehow ended up near 48th! It never ends, lol! I turned around and as I was coming back down Gray’s Ferry, I saw the Fedex center and turned in the parking lot. A few minutes later, I emerged, box in hand! Victory! I got in my car, placed the phone on the charger, and then headed back down Gray’s Ferry. I had no clue how I was going to navigate my way home, but I felt a little more confident with a working phone. While driving, I passed a sign for I76. Yes! I know how to navigate my way home from here! After I made my turn, I saw it said I76E… uh oh… I need to be going West! I drove a little further and saw a sign for I95. YES! THAT’S EXACTLY WHAT I NEED!

Happily, I drove along, following the signs for I95. Driving… driving… in the left lane… driving… In the far right – “Last exit for 95 before leaving PA”… What followed after was humorous. “Nooooooooooo!!!!” Yep, that came out of my mouth. Up ahead was a bridge (I have a slight bridge phobia – sweaty palms, tensing up, the whole 9) so I braced myself. On my right was an 18 wheeler, something I also don’t feel too comfortable with. My gas tank was getting closer to E, I had no money, and I was tired (after a long Theraflu induced night). I saw an exit for the Camden Waterfront, followed that, and drove until I saw signs for the Ben Franklin bridge. I was familiar with old Ben because on my first day driving to my current job, I was forced to exit and ended up in Camden, NJ… a story my boss loves to share! Oh, sidenote – leaving Philly to go to New Jersey is absolutely free. Coming back is another story – You WILL pay a toll. No matter what bridge you take – Tacony, Ben Franklin, Betsy Ross, etc. – you will pay a toll to get back into Philly. I prayed for God’s grace and finally got to the toll window. “Hi! I’m from Philly and I missed my turn and I have no money… Here! Here’s my driver’s license! You can take down my address and info and bill me! I just don’t have any money!”… and you know what? The young man said, “Don’t worry about it” and let me through… “THANK YOU LORD” came out of my mouth as I made my way back into Pennsylvania. Let me add – This entire trip, from start to finish, I went back and forth between laughing and crying. I tend to laugh in the strangest situations. Yes, my friends DO think I’m a nut. I gladly accept the title.

By the time I got home, my tank was on E, I was tired, yet glad, and thought to myself – Wow, an adventure with God. I noticed my sinfulness in the situation – feeling better when I got my phone versus totally trusting in the Lord alone to guide me through it all, my easy tendency to throw a mini tantrum when things don’t go my way, and not trusting His sovereignty and perfect plan… Yuck. I’m a mess. 😥 And in spite of all of this, all of my sinfulness, He STILL guided me, directed me, granted grace to me, kept me safe, had mercy on me… What a good God. What an adventure in more ways than one.

4 thoughts on “Adventures with God

  1. Michael says:

    Wow. That was quite an adventure. I’m glad you were able to make it home safely. Despite your ups and downs during the course of the trip, He still showed you favor along the way. How faithful is He who said He would never leave nor forsake us!

  2. Bobby says:

    OK… so does the phone work!?!

    🙂

  3. Jenn says:

    Michael,
    Absolutely! 🙂

    Bobby,
    YES!… for now, LOL

  4. YOLANDA says:

    heh heh heh..this story rocks..but God rocks even more..LOL..happy it all worked out toots..=)

Leave a Reply

