Thoughts and Things

I have been thinking a lot lately, so here are a few of the things I have been thinking through.

The key to evangelism is constant communion and conversation with the Lord through prayer and through His Word. This is important for the Christian life regardless, but I don’t know – I was just thinking as I was driving to work last week. In Luke 6:45, you see:

The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.
Luke 6:45 ESV

In line with the above Scripture, if I am constantly feeding on God, if I am constantly feeding on the Scriptures, I can’t HELP but to speak about the love of the Lord to men. It becomes natural because that’s what in my heart. So the intent becomes not to just try and ‘convert’ men, but to just share with them the beauty of Jesus Christ and His glorious Gospel.

I’ve also been thinking about the art of observation when it comes to Bible intake. There’s something I printed out recently (can’t remember where I got it) and it says:

8. Note any significant omissions as well as the events and ideas which are included. Sometimes what’s not said is as important as what is said.

So, I have been noticing things as I have been reading through the Gospel of John, things such as:

In the beginning of John 1, Jesus is referred to by many descriptions and attributes (the Word, light, true light) but not by His name / title until verse 14 (referred to as the only Son of the Father), verse 17 (Grace & truth come through Jesus Christ).

In verse 29, John doesn’t say ‘sins’, he says ‘sin’… so what is the sin of the world? I think – Rebellion against God and a living out of Romans 1:

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth. For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse. For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools, and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man and birds and animals and creeping things.
Romans 1:18-23 ESV

So, the sin of the world.

In John 2, Mary is referred to as the mother of Jesus, and not by her name.

Then, looking at why the people believed in Jesus later on:

Now when he was in Jerusalem at the Passover Feast, many believed in his name when they saw the signs that he was doing.
John 2:23 ESV

I love in John 3 how Jesus gets to the heart of what Nicodemus is REALLY seeking! I LOVE IT! I love the mercy of God shown in John 3:17:

For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.
John 3:17 ESV

I love how He went through Samaria, which Jews at the time would take great lengths to avoid. Christ was the epitome of being missional! I think it’s hilarious at how, when Jesus tells her about herself (The woman answered him, “I have no husband.” Jesus said to her, “You are right in saying, ‘I have no husband’; for you have had five husbands, and the one you now have is not your husband. What you have said is true.”), the woman QUICKLY changes the subject (Our fathers worshiped on this mountain, but you say that in Jerusalem is the place where people ought to worship)… lol!!!

I love the Gospel of John!!!

More thoughts?

I am amazed at what the Lord does when He transfers people from one kingdom to another (1 Peter 2:9, Colossians 1:13). I was talking about this with a dear brother in the Lord. I look at my past, his past, and many others’ pasts and I’m like, WOW LORD! It causes me to think:

“Who is like you, O LORD, among the gods? Who is like you, majestic in holiness, awesome in glorious deeds, doing wonders?
Exodus 15:11 ESV

Seriously! I love it! I love what the Lord does! I love what He has done, is doing, and will do!

This concludes some my thoughts… for now :o)

One thought on “Thoughts and Things

  1. Jenn B. says:

    That’s good, sis! And like you, I love the Gospel of John!
    Be encouraged and I pray for continued blessings!

Leave a Reply

