Help my unbelief…

Another song I have been able to identify with lately… Will You help me through this valley?… Will You help me understand…? Help me understand…

Often in my life, my behavior shows unbelief… my actions, my words, my lack of doing those things I should do… although I know what God’s Word says, and I know His Word to be true, I still demonstrate unbelief…

… “I believe; help my unbelief!”
Mark 9:24

It is my prayer that You will help me through this time in my life, Lord… I cannot love You without You, I cannot please You without You. You are the source of all things, creator, sustainer… All powerful… You in Your omnis – omnipresent, omniscient, omnipotent – are sufficient… Your grace is sufficient. I love You God; may my heart’s aim be Your delight and pleasure!

[audio:outstretched.mp3]

Could I talk to You?
Are You listening?
Would You let me ask the questions
That burn inside of me?
I am reaching out
I am holding on
Feel like one of Your affections
But not quite like I belong
Like I belong

I am numb today
Everything’s a blur
I’ve seen too much to deny
Too little to be sure
Like a prodigal
Like a distant son
I can see You from a distance
But I’m too ashamed to come

Will You see me through this valley?
Will You hold my outstretched hands?
As the world caves in around me
Will You help me understand?
Help me understand, help me understand

I am scared to fall
Scared to carry on
Am I losing to the cynic
After running for so long?
There’s a child in me
Lost in mystery
But it’s buried underneath the earth
Longing to be free

Will You see me through this valley?
Will You hold my outstretched hands?
As the world caves in around me
Will You help me understand?
Help me understand, help me understand

Leave a Reply

