Why am I voting for Obama ?

Why, as a believer in Christ Jesus, should I vote for Obama, one who is for partial birth abortion ? That is essentially murder. I refuse to vote for Obama simply because he is Black. Race doesn’t matter.

The 10 commandments state that you shouldn’t kill. Essentially, man is attempting to trump God when he takes a life into his own hands. Why do so many of my brothers and sisters in the Faith support this man ? No, there is NOT a perfect candidate, but I will not vote for a man who says it is okay to murder a child.

If you need to know more about what partial birth abortion is, peep:

These are done after 4 or 5 months.
– 80% of babies are normal.
– Most babies are viable.

This is like a breech delivery. The entire infant is delivered except the head. A scissors is jammed into the base of the skull. A tube is inserted into the skull, and the brain is sucked out. The now-dead infant is pulled out. The drawings illustrate this.



Pics and info taken from AbortionFacts.com.

A baby that can feel… floating around in his / her mother’s womb… only to have some scissors JAMMED INTO THEIR SKULLS. This is absolutely cruel.

So… why am I voting for Obama again ?

Grace and peace,
Jenn

15 thoughts on “Why am I voting for Obama ?

  1. Anna says:

    This is so true, Jenn. A lot of people think that other issues, such as poverty and the environment and the death penalty, are just as important, so they vote Democrat. But I don’t see how any other issue is more pressing or outrageous than this one.

  2. Shawn says:

    I really wish Obama would change his views on Abortion. I’m no supporter of any kind of abortion, BTW. Abortion is not a good thing. Yet, I’m supporting Obama.

    I think life should be approached consistently. So, war is just as wrong as abortion, if life is the issue. Poverty is just as important too, if life is an issue. Everything that effects/affects life is an issue. So, if it is life that we care about, I’m not sure we should vote at all! None of the candidates are consistent regarding life. Not one of them …

  3. M.A. says:

    I personally believe that war is much different than abortion. Murder and war are two different things. If war was the same as murder, then we’d have to place God on trial for using Israel as His sword of judgment upon wicked nations. But that isn’t the case. And with this particular war, the justifiability of it is debatable. I don’t think we can say for certainty that this war should not have taken place at all. I think it could have been handled better, but I don’t see it as unjustified. But that’s another issue altogether.

    What isn’t debatable is that abortion is murder, no matter if it’s in the first, second or third tri-mester. Partial Birth Abortion is especially heinous.

  4. Shawn says:

    Jesus changed it all with the Sermon on the Mount …

    Progressive revelation, or so some call it. Jesus way is a higher calling than that that preceded it.

    Life is life … the taking of a life is the taking of a life. I think we – as followers of the same Jesus who preached the Sermon on the Mount – should be consistent, don’t you?

  5. Anna says:

    At least there is some element of choice involved in war, for the soldiers if not for all of the civilians affected. In abortion, there is no element of choice for the children who are being killed. And we have lost far more children to abortion than to war since abortion was legalized. It’s a matter of assessing which need is more urgent now. And I think that the murdering of millions of unborn babies is more urgent than the debate over just war.

  6. I think it’s bad rhetoric to suggest that a RARE procedure is worse than thousands of dying children IN OUR OWN COUNTRY because of hunger and disease (untreated because of the health care crisis) and the thousands of dying children abroad because of our choice to “go to war”.

    PPA is sad and repulsive, no doubt, but it’s these high profile shocking images that get people’s emotional response and keep them from thinking like clear headed rational adults. And frankly, I find the politicization of abortion to be the number one problem with the issue all together.

    I don’t agree with Obama on everything, I’m still working on the facts regarding his stance on partial birth abortion, but voting for a person on 1 issue is pure ignorance. If you don’t like obama and think he’d be bad for our country then don’t vote for him, but to lift up PPA as some sort of golden calf is misinformed.

  7. it’s not just about war anna, and it’s not about deciding which is more important – a president who will outlaw abortion or a president who will take care of the poor – – those are completely false dichotomies.

  8. oh, and your facts are wrong about the number of abortions since legalization.

  9. Jenn says:

    Makeesha –

    It is not as rare a procedure as you think it is. Also, to say it is pure ignorance is extremely out of line. It’s enough of an issue for me. I will not vote for someone who supports murder straight up. The images are real. Sometimes it takes an image for people to realize the depth and seriousness of things. We can hear about it all day long, but when we see what it is, we can better identify with it.

    Also, I didn’t post this blog to have a going back and forth of sorts with anyone. It’s what I stand strongly on. I respect if you don’t feel the same, but I am not willing to debate it.

    Grace and peace,
    Jenn

  10. it is rare Jenn, it is rare. AND I agree with you, it’s not necessary and should be made illegal. What I’m saying to you is that to suggest that the handful of lives taken through PPA are more important than the thousands of babes who are already born who suffer and die from hunger is bizarre to me. They are all valuable. What I’m saying is that it’s not a good idea to vote for a president on ONE issue – look at how many “pro life” presidents we have had….and what’s changed?

    you know what changes this issue? love, compassion, grass roots action and EDUCATION…starting way back with our very young. THIS is what changes this issue.

    again, I’m not saying that ppa is ok, I’m not saying that abortion is ok, I’m saying it is ill informed to vote for someone for president on ONE issue.

    war and the death penalty are murder too – – how do you feel about those things?

  11. Jenn says:

    I don’t support war nor the death penalty.

  12. Makeesha Fisher wrote:
    “PPA is sad and repulsive, no doubt, but it’s these high profile shocking images that get people’s emotional response and keep them from thinking like clear headed rational adults.”

    Well, yes, and no. There should be an emotional response to such images.

    When I see photos of wounded soldiers, it should do the same. Neither of those issues are emotion-free, nor should we pretend they are.

    I do agree, however, about the false dichotomy (outlaw abortion vs. care for poor). Life should be valued on either side of the womb.

    The problem is that I can personally do something to help the poor. My options are severely limited to what I can do for the unborn.

    I would also say that I don’t look to the government to perform the role of the church (i.e., helping the poor), but only the government can make the laws necessary to protect the innocent.

    So, I could vote pro-life and still help the poor (as an individual and through my church), but if I vote for a pro-choice candidate who is helping the poor, I can at best only do one option.

  13. J says:

    Most people are only voting for Barack because he is black, not on issues. The urban radio stations, TV, and media in general are promoting Barack based moreso on race and not issues. They even have hip hop songs and videos pumping up Barack. Celebrities are stepping up and announcing their support of him and encouraging others to as well (most of whom idolize these celebrities..ie. Oprah). A lot of people are viewing him as a savour. Alot of churchgoers are more enamored with him than they are with Jesus. Yes, sadly most of the churches in the urban communities are following right behind the world! Pastors endorsing him without informing Christians of the issues, and congregants saying “Amen” and why not…”the Pastor’s always right”.
    As far as partial-birth abortion…the heart in a fetus beats at about 3 wks and the lungs form shortly thereafter. At about 4-1/2 months a baby can feel pain. The devil wants the children dead. If he can’t get them in the womb, he’ll take them when they live in this world. More young people are dying today than ever before. The seeds for the next generation are primary targets for the enemy. You hear more outcrys today at innocent, harmless animals being treated inhumanely than an innocent, harmless LIFE, formed in the womb by God. How far as this society fallen away from God, when we regard the life of an animal, who has no soul, over the life of a baby! It’s despicable and abomination in the sight of God.
    God’s hand is more in a war than it is in partial birth abortion or abortion period. The Bible is full of wars. Before each battle that David went into with the enemies of God, he inquired of the Lord. This is what America should do in regards to war, because it is sometimes necessary. A soldier chooses to go to far knowing his life is on the line. We live in a fallen world and most countries in the world hate America and it’s not entirely because of Bush. It’s primarily because God has blessed us and we are allies with Israel. This is a real thing and the enemy hates God and His people.
    My stance is a no vote for anybody. None of them impress me. I like some of the issues that each present, but not enough to vote for them. They all say what the people want to hear and then when they are in office they don’t deliver. Furthermore, because mainstream America is so selfish, self-centered, spoiled, ungrateful, full of hate, greed, envy, not easily satisfied, etc., the same people we elect today we tear down tomorrow. We build them up and then tear them down when they don’t perform like we think they should. So it doesn’t matter who is elected…America will not be satisfied and this country is still going to perish, unless God has mercy on us!! But I don’t discourage anyone to vote….exercise your right if you choose, but listen to God and not popular opinion!

  14. Conduit says:

    wow ..I was ignoratnt on this one.. still again wow

  15. Jenn Barrett says:

    Hey Sis,
    Sorry it’s been a real long minute since I’ve even said, “Hey”. With that, I do apologize. I do still read your blogs.

    I wanted to comment on this b/c I work for a pre-natal screening lab that does screeners/markers (aka risk factors) for women who are high risk for a baby with a birth defect. I’ve worked in the department of Obstetrics and Gynecology for the past 4 years and I’ve done a lot of praying b/c people/women literally play God with the lives of their unborn children.

    We see women who are in their 2nd trimester (15-20 weeks gestation). When the opportunity arises, I inform the women that the results are just indications or risk factors, it does not indicate by any means if the child will actually be born with a genetic birth defect. But even if they were born with the birth defect, it is ONLY God, who can determine who will continue to live and who will die.

    Is it correct to say that having the mind set of the ‘perfect child’ is a form of materialism?
    I’m glad to know that I wasn’t the only one having this opinion about Senator Obama. While I think that he raises a lot of good points regarding the economy and having good opinions regarding other political views, I would have to agree about when does the rubber meet the road for Christ followers?

    America has been (for some years now) the ‘land of relativism’. If the majority of the people can relate or have ‘compassion’ for a topic then it’s considered the norm. The Lord will not tarry with us much longer as this nation (and the world) continues to throw His word to the side. There will be a harvest to come in soon from what the world has reaped.

    My prayer is that we will adhere to 2 Chronicles 7:14 “if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

    We must remember in these last days concerning the election process, the economy, etc. that as people start to really come out (about everything) it is God’s face that we must seek. We’ve got Oprah now brainwashing people with her New Age Movement agenda.

    I just pray that everyone who is able to vote, does. I also pray that everyone seeks Christ as to whom to vote for b/c ALL THAT GLITTERS IS NOT GOD.

Leave a Reply

