Jesus Christ = Adorable!

I was reading the Valley of Vision last night, looking at some of the prayers. In one, Christ was referred to as ‘adorable’. I don’t know about you, but when I hear that word, I think of something cute… like a baby. How often do we say a baby, or dress, or anything else, is adorable ? Often. It prompted me to look up the definition of the word in the dictionary. The 2nd definition of the word says:

2. worthy of being adored.

Is a baby or a dress worthy of my adoration ? No. Only Jesus Christ is worthy.

ad·o·ra·tion –noun
1. the act of paying honor, as to a divine being; worship.
2. reverent homage.
3. fervent and devoted love.

a·dore
–verb
1. to regard with the utmost esteem, love, and respect; honor.
2. to pay divine honor to; worship.
3. to like or admire very much.

May the heart of the believer find Jesus Christ purely adorable.

5 thoughts on “Jesus Christ = Adorable!

  1. Born2Di says:

    Ok, so would it be blasphemous for me to say that the initial sight of this blog’s title made me have to block out a certain scene of a certain, recent Will Ferrell movie?

    Nonetheless, this was some good eating. I never knew that was the definition of adorable. I’ll never say that about another, non-divine baby again.

  2. Princess says:

    Ok this is a “bit much”.

    There are several definitions for the word adore (the root word), as this is the case for most English words. Other definitions are:

    to love intensely

    to love or like very much

    I certainly hope everyone with children finds their babies adorable. If not, we’re in trouble!

  3. Jenn says:

    Princess,

    I see what you are saying, but I disagree w/you. In the English language, we use many words so loosely w/o considering the definition… such as words like ‘awesome’.

  4. Princess says:

    But I did consider the definition. Since “adore” also means “to love intensely” or “to love or like very much”, is it wrong to “adore” a baby?

  5. Jenn says:

    Not generally, but again:

    In the English language, we use many words so loosely w/o considering the definition… such as words like ‘awesome’.

    🙂 Jenn

Leave a Reply

