Give Thanks

It’s been almost 6 months since I picked up and moved from Dallas to Philadelphia. What an amazing time it has been! I have experienced so much, and in all of it, the goodness and graciousness of God is truly shown. From night time travels to driving in snow (never did that in Texas!) to growing in the Lord to everything else! His constant protection is so evident, and maybe I’ve become so used to it that I fail to give Him proper thanks.

Lately, I’ve looked at all the things I have amassed in the past few years – clothes, CDs, shoes, books, etc. – and I’ve wondered, Man, if there were a fire, I’d have none of this! I am so used to having a car to get in to drive to a home I stay in to lay in a bed I own. None of these things are promises, nor basics. They are all a blessing from the Lord, a glorious provision of His… luxury even. It is a blessing that I leave in the morning and my car is still there, untouched. It is a blessing that when I get home from work, the house is still here, untouched. I’ve become more proactive (not nearly enough though) in thanking God for the things that I, as a sinner and as an American, take for granted.

Nothing is owed to me… And in this modern brand of Christianity that instructs people to ‘claim what is yours’ in the form of materialism, God is much forgotten.

How can we forget Him ? We become so used to His goodness that it becomes nothing to us. We’re so used to the fact that He’s so gracious that we overlook Him, paying attention to things that He in His goodness has allowed us to have.

We forget how amazing and marvelous it is that such a Holy God as He would desire to give good gifts to His children.

Let us make it a point to give thanks as the Holy Scriptures have instructed us to do.

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!
1 Chronicles 16:34 ESV

… give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.
1 Thessalonians 5:18 ESV

May this be our sincere attitude:

I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.
Psalms 9:1 ESV

But we your people, the sheep of your pasture, will give thanks to you forever; from generation to generation we will recount your praise.
Psalms 79:13 ESV

…. lest we be like those in Romans 1:
For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened.
Romans 1:21 ESV

Grace and peace.

5 thoughts on “Give Thanks

  1. Asia says:

    I know what you mean. Sometimes I am quick to forget the things that I have and forget God. I have also been thinking about the things I have and were I have came from. I have a lot to be thankful for. I know that I am thankful that God draw me nearer to Himself and saved me. I am still at awe thinking about that because there were so many chances I could have died but He saved me.

  2. Charlie says:

    And isn’t it amazing what the attitude of thankfulness does for our own attitude? When I’m thankful to God, I go through life with a sense of wonder.

  3. Pistol Pete says:

    It is interesting that, in the Old Testament practice of worship, one of the tangible gifts (crops, animals, etc…) was a “thank offering”. We do well giving God our time, talent, and money as an expression of thanks.

    Good post.

  4. Tom Neyhart says:

    These are some wonderful thoughts and scripture references. Our faith and trust is never trusted harder than when we have to fully trust in God’s provisions. Being able to give thanks in all circumstances is an indicator of joy that is way beyond the physical and material world. God bless you today!

  5. Tom Neyhart says:

    I don’t know where I learned to type but apparently I need more training…I mistyped the previous comment and it should be “Our faith and trust is never tested harder than when we have to fully trust in God’s provision.”

    That will teach me to proofread before I hit the submit button. Again thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

