Send Me ?

[audio:SendMe.mp3]

In ‘Send Me’ by Lecrae, he says, ‘Missions exists because worship doesn’t’. Proper worship of God does not exist in the nations so we, as ambassadors of Christ, were commissioned to go and make disciples and teach people to observe all that He’s commanded us. Many people forget the latter part of the Great Commission…

19 Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”
Matthew 28:19-20

As I drove to work this morning, I listened to 116 Clique’s newest CD – Amped. I had ‘Send Me/Represent’ on repeat. Listening to the song, as amped up (no pun intended) as it is, I focused on what Lecrae was saying and started to realize that the Lord is really giving me a heart that is highly focused on missions. This started developing so much more since I have been in Philly. The things I see and hear tear me up! And this song ? I have listened to it so many times, blasted it in my car, but today was different. I thought, wow… What am I doing ? In Shai Linne’s song, ‘More Random Thoughts’, he says:

I used to doubt Him / Now I see I can’t live without Him / Now what I look like not tellin’ everybody about Him

So I am here in Philly… saved… I know the good news of Jesus Christ… have His Word… have this blessed hope as an anchor for my soul (Hebrews 6:19)… and what am I doing with it ? While I watch people living hellbound lives… while I watch young men and women hang out on the corner… while I listen to and read the news about yet another senseless murder… while I watch people DIE, what am I doing ? What am I doing with what He’s given me ? What am I doing with what the Lord has blessed me to know ? What am I doing with my life ?

Ahh, this is breaking me lately. It’s tearing me up. Lord, have mercy on me for being timid and fearful. Make me bold for Your namesake, for Your glory.

People are dying and going to hell. We’re alive in Christ and look forward to spending eternity with Him… only by the grace of God. We’re not in an elite club… We’re not better than others… He saved us; He can save them too. No, God doesn’t need us, but are we being obedient to the great commission that the Lord Jesus set before us ? I know I’m not, and my heart is feeling it… May the Lord grant us purpose, boldness, and grace in proclaiming His Word. May we breathe out what we breathe in…

5 thoughts on “Send Me ?

  1. Lionel Woods says:

    Been a while Jenn. Whats good Sister. It is still warm in the D! Holla.

  2. Minista J says:

    That’s real talk. Look around us people are without Jesus! Sometimes we get comfortable and make Jesus a little too personal in our lives. It’s like we hold or possess the cure for the disease of sin, but we don’t share the antidote with those in need of the cure. It’s sobering to imagine if we had the cure for cancer or AIDS, but didn’t tell anybody, knowing there are millions dying and in need of the antidote. We would be considered criminals in society and of course very selfish, thoughtless, no compassion having, cruel, among other things, having this cure be not revealing to them what it is and offering it to them. So we do the same with the cure for man’s sickness….we don’t share or offer the Good News of Jesus Christ. We hold it in and the devil is loving it! We have the Cure, we have the Solution, but we don’t tell those who need it. What if all churches in America shut down their services on a Sunday morning and decided to hit the blocks and proclaim the Good News?! Of course it shouldn’t be just for one day of the week to witness, but it’s better to do one than none. I mean how much of an impact would that have? I think it would be huge!
    Just some thoughts….while I’m printing out flyers for Soul Harvest! lol…..Truly the harvest is plenteous, but the laborers are few..Matt. 9:37

  3. Jenn Barrett says:

    That’s good J! My husband really likes Lecrae’s version of the song. I’ll have to go find both 116 Clique and Shai Linne’s cd’s. I need you to email me. There’s something I would like to discuss with you (in non-forum form) regarding the Lord putting it in your heart to do missions.
    aja3_trublvr@yahoo.com.

    Love you and stay motivated about Jesus! 🙂

  4. Yung Lion says:

    hey girl….I haven’t been on in a while. I want to say thanks for your post they are an encouragement to me. Peace sis! And I hope you’re really enjoying it up there in Philly! I’mma keep holdin it down in louisiana! BTW hows you’re Grandma?

  5. hey jen! i found your blog through my friend, shawnda’s blog! how small the world is! good to have this connection. hope we can talk more soon or when dee & i are in philly again!

    stacey

Leave a Reply

