Consider Christ

Therefore, holy brothers, you who share in a heavenly calling, consider Jesus, the apostle and high priest of our confession, who was faithful to him who appointed him, just as Moses also was faithful in all God’s house.
Hebrews 3:1-2 ESV

As I went along with the study for Hebrews by Johnny Mac, I was convicted by this question:
13) The passage urges us to ‘consider… Christ Jesus.’ What would this be like in your everyday life ? What are some evidences that a person is, in fact, keeping his or her eyes on the Savior ?

I read that question and sat at my desk, pen in hand, thinking about what this looks like, to TRULY consider Christ in your everyday life – every moment, every thought, every action. Do we really consider Him enough ? Do we truly consider this Great Savior enough daily ? I was listening to a sermon recently where the brother said that sin shows what we think of God. I think these two things tie in – sin and consideration of Christ. Yesterday, while driving, someone wouldn’t let me over when it was quite obvious that I couldn’t go anywhere else. When they drove by me, I looked at them and threw my hands up in frustration. Was I considering Christ ? No. I could probably name atleast 20 things I did yesterday where I didn’t consider Him. Those are just the things that I am aware of. The heart is desperately sick and truly deceitful above all else, so some of the things that may have seemed like 2nd nature, to the point where I didn’t think twice about them, may have been explicit examples of when I didn’t consider Christ. So… with that said, I urge all of my brothers and sisters to consider Christ in all things – at work, at home, with your family, with your friends, at the store, at the restaurant, driving, listening to music, reading… whatever it may be. Consider Him. He didn’t have to consider us.

Grace and peace.

2 thoughts on “Consider Christ

  1. eddie says:

    I thought this would tie in to what you were saying…
    katanoeō
    kat-an-o-eh’-o
    From G2596 and G3539; to observe fully: – behold, consider, discover, perceive.

  2. “13) The passage urges us to ‘consider… Christ Jesus.’ What would this be like in your everyday life ? What are some evidences that a person is, in fact, keeping his or her eyes on the Savior ?”

    GREAT question to ponder daily.

    Thanks,
    Gunny

Leave a Reply

