The Naked Truth ??? Part 1

An artist who has in the past classified himself as a Christian gospel artist, has recently released material which features him using much profanity, mainly his song ‘The Naked Truth’. On his myspace page, a picture of him shirtless covers the background. When you view his blogs, you see nothing but him justifying the sin and hundreds of people, claiming to be Christians, cosigning. He’s been compared to David, been labeled as someone who’s ‘real’, and he has been given many accolades. Why ?

That’s what I have been trying to figure out. This man, known to the music industry as ‘Tonex’ has been featured on Christian awards shows, in churches, at Christian venues, on compilations, and has done collaborations with well known artists such as Kirk Franklin. He helped pastor a church with his late father for the past few years. He even had a song called ‘Make Me Over’ in which he confesses to the Lord that he’s let Him down, failed Him, and what’s not like Him, please take it out. This song was an anthem at churches nationwide. The church I was attending at the time even sang it a few Sundays. And I have to admit, I liked it too… enough to go and buy the CD. I no longer have any of his CDs; they’re with the trashman.

So what is the case ? Many say to pray for him, that he’s just angry, etc. People have been advised just to ‘reach out’ to him because he’s ‘having a hard time’. True enough, he did lose his father and became divorced within a short time, but is that an excuse ? Not at all. You have many great men who have dealt with quite stressful situations and they have handled it with the grace that only comes from God. John Piper recently lost his father. Billy Graham recently lost his wife. Do you see these guys ‘acting out’ and sinning and rebelling ? Not at all. And it’s not even a case of maturity because even with a basic knowledge of God’s Word and character, you know what He expects.

I have to admit, it makes me VERY mad. It angers me and I hate it. I hate what Tonex is doing. It’s making a mockery out of Christ and His TRUE followers. It’s nothing but fodder for those who think Christians are hypocrites. It’s misleading many to hell because they say he’s just being real. This man has blog entries saying how profanity’s not bad; it’s what we make it. And of course, he justifies his use of it… But what really angers me and incenses me is the comments made by so-called believers:

Wow, now that is food for thought. Most religous Christians would find this replsive but I feel ya bro. Besides they being the ones who would point fingers at you or us probaly do far worst things than using or misusing the english vocabulary.
— Shannon

It is what it is!!! I’m happy u defined that for tha super “HOLY ROLLERS”. And “SUPER DUPER SAINTS”. Witch I’m sure slips out of everyones mouth from time 2time… lol. Step 1 in confession. I confess! I admit I have used some of these words, but not juss out of anger! I have had my days when I’m actn like ah “B****”.. Yes A female dog!! “THESE ARE MY CONFESSIONS”!!!!!!
— “VIRTUOUS” WOMAN!!!

I feel you on that. Just last week I had the word s*** in my headline and one of my “sisters in Christ” tried to correct me saying that as a Christian I should be living a “curse free life.” Really? I wasn’t using the word to be derogatory, but to express how I truly felt at that point in time. I don’t have a problem with people correcting me when i’m falling off, but save that for if I’m strung out on crack, cheating on my husband, abusing my children, taking the Lord’s name in vain, denying my Christianity, etc. Not because I said s*** 🙂
— My name is Unique, and that’s what I am

Very insightful. I agree that we need to get back to the essence of why we are Christians. It’s not to discuss petty s*** like the words we use. Its to win people for the Kingdom of God, teaching and showing them the same principles and acts taught to us through Jesus Christ.
— KG

You are right on my brotha. I was always told that if you have to use profanity that means you don’t have much to say. That your vocabulary is limited. I hope that you are not going to let this shake you faith in God. I pray that God leads you in the right direction.
— 3rd Generation COGIC Preacher

Sadly, I had to ‘star out’ the profanity in the comments coming from those who claim to be Christian. I was shocked at first, but unfortunately, it’s wearing off. I am saddened because there are baby Christians who see this and think it’s okay. There are people claiming to be Christians who agree with him who will have the shock of the century come the day of the Lord (or maybe not). There are those who are NOT Christians who already think Christ is a joke, and now that feeling is confirmed.

Since when has being ‘real’ been a license to sin ? Never! No one will DARE say that when our lives are played back by the Lord to us. Will we dare say, “Man, God, you know I was just being real; my bad” ? No, we won’t. There are no excuses for sin – NONE. God does not take it lightly and neither should those who claim to be Christians. And on top of that, rebelliousness is not, and has NEVER been, an attribute of a child of God! As a matter of fact, willful sinning is a sign that you are NOT of God:

Everyone who makes a practice of sinning also practices lawlessness; sin is lawlessness. You know that he appeared to take away sins, and in him there is no sin. No one who abides in him keeps on sinning; no one who keeps on sinning has either seen him or known him. Little children, let no one deceive you. Whoever practices righteousness is righteous, as he is righteous. Whoever makes a practice of sinning is of the devil, for the devil has been sinning from the beginning. The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the works of the devil. No one born of God makes a practice of sinning, for God’s seed abides in him, and he cannot keep on sinning because he has been born of God.
1 John 3:4-9 ESV

Impossible to continue sinning and have His Holy Spirit. And those who hate the ones who are supposed to be their brothers and sisters ?

Whoever says he is in the light and hates his brother is still in darkness. Whoever loves his brother abides in the light, and in him there is no cause for stumbling. But whoever hates his brother is in the darkness and walks in the darkness, and does not know where he is going, because the darkness has blinded his eyes.
1 John 2:9-11 ESV

You hate your brother ? You’re not in Christ! Plain and simple! And profanity ?

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.
Ephesians 4:29-31 ESV

From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so. Does a spring pour forth from the same opening both fresh and salt water? Can a fig tree, my brothers, bear olives, or a grapevine produce figs? Neither can a salt pond yield fresh water.
James 3:10-12 ESV

The Bible instructs the Christian how to live, so no one who claims to know Christ has an excuse because God has given us His Word. We are called to lives of Holiness, lives lived out to please God, not lives lived out to bring dishonor. As a Christian, if your desire is not to please God, but yourself, then I have news for you — You may not be a Christian at all. And this behavior coming from someone who used to be a PASTOR is outrageous and flat out amazing. I have to say – I am quite ticked off, angered, grieved, saddened, and have not felt like this about something in a long time. And it seems that those who are not in agreement with his ‘newfound’ discovery / truth are deemed ‘haters’ and it seems that he gets excited when people talk. Never has this been a trait of someone who loves, follows, professes, and is a part of, Jesus Christ.

16 thoughts on “The Naked Truth ??? Part 1

  1. Because of Tonex’ recent doings, the name of the Lord is blasphemed among unbelievers. That is the worst part of his actions, I feel.

    – Terrence

  2. William A.K.A. Living Sacrifice says:

    Yeah, these type of things grieve me. Moral compromise and confusion is definitlely an enemy of the true and living God. Jesus is surely cleaning out His church. May God the Father have mercy on him.

  3. LEN says:

    I have been watching the Tonex situation for a few years now, Jenn, and I agree with you. Though NONE of us are perfect…and God knows I have faults, when you decide that the Bible is WRONG and ALMIGHTY GOD is wrong and that cursing, homosexuality, profanity, etc are acceptable, you may not be “connected” at all. What you are now doing is living an UNREPENTANT life…and outside of repentance, THERE IS NO FORGIVENESS!! Tonex is SAD, but the church accepted him early on when he was ‘flirting’ with this foolishness. I remember his performance at the 2002 Stellar Awards when I was THERE in the audience watching in disbelief as he disrobed behind a ‘purple screen’ ala Prince, and began to gyrate and grind with two seemingly ‘naked’ girls to a supposed Gospel song!! They even gave him an award that nite!! The same night they allowed KRS-One to perform on the Stellar stage when he wouldn’t even acknowledge God as ‘The Father’, but as a ‘feminine force of nature’…
    So, the BUSINESS of Gospel created this monster, fed it and allowed it to grow. What Tonex has become is a microcasm of the church today: compromising, self serving, and openly disobedient because in the “Once Saved / Always Saved” way of living, Jesus paid it all!! I pray for him and all that believe they are safe from ANY judgement because of Christ. Hell will be full of those that chose to live like the devil while lying ’bout the Lord.

  4. Danny says:

    i was listening to one of his songs on myspace and he has become so full of pride. the problem isnt just the cursing…..even if he didnt curse….he is misrepresenting christ. someone needs to tell him that the bride of christ is beautiful and that the true church is invisible. on his blogs, he expresses so much hate for christians neglecting the fact that there are people with genuine faith around the world who are dying for it. its a shame! shame on him!

  5. djdesignz says:

    Not really surprising, it’s just history in a current context. It’s sad because it is a reflection of the spirit of this age which permeates Christendom! The entities known as Contemporary Christian Music, Gospel Music, Praise & Worship and Holy Hip Hop all exist within a system whose airwaves are controlled by the prince of the power of the air, and it’s known as the “entertainment” industry/system. Should we REALLY be surprised at what this… machine produces? An industry that props you up in the hearts and minds of people, fans, consumers! Artificially creating demand by controlling what’s heard, and obviously the Gospel needs to be heard. But you defeat the enemy by first submitting to God and then resisting the devil (James 4:7).

    In an industry that’s designed to create idols, success does not come by submitting and resisting, that simply doesn’t move merchandise through the machine. And make no mistake, the love of money is what the machine is all about! So there’s a conundrum… how far can I push or even “pimp” the gospel to attain the profits for those who’ve financially under girded me and still maintain credibility in the community of believers? There are many who are forced to walk a very fine line here, because to NOT adhere to the successfully proven foundational principles of the entertainment industry is to almost assuredly ensure a relatively short career. Yet we all know that even employing these principles does not guarantee everyone will attain that success.

    So yea… don’t be surprised if millions of records are sold by this artist, its what the people want right? Someone real… someone not ashamed to allow what’s really in their heart to be verbalized. People want a hero, someone they can point to and justify their apostate or relative belief system… because God knows their heart!

    Heaven is preparing for the wedding coronation of Christ and His bride! Yet we’re too attached to this world to recognize that we (the Church) need to WAKE UP, DISENGAGE (from our love of this world) and DRAW NEAR to God.

    I Ain’t Nobody!

  6. Spoken says:

    It’s always sad when we see the mighty fall. It just goes to show that all of us are capable of sin, and any one of us can easily fall. Let’s just pray that Tonex returns to the faith before it’s too late. What he’s doing is not justifyable, but we shouldn’t be too quick to cast him off (I don’t mean still listen to his music. DONT!!!) Just pray for him, and this whole incident gives us more incentive to make the image of christ attractive through our own lives, so that more aren’t decieved.

    God Bless and Keep it Christ

  7. Dredakyst says:

    I dunno why we are really still talking about this crap… he just found a way to garner record sales and get attention… We can get theological deep but he’s not the first with some sort of skewed agenda to prove a point… Being a Christian all my life, I haven’t seen it all… but I’ve seen a lot.. and Like Solomon said.. there’s nothing new under the sun…

    I respect his talent, without question… but every since his debut, it all about “me me me me ” trying to prove who he is as a person,artist and in the kingdom & blah blah… By everyone blogging and commenting on this, he’s probably jumped a few in the Google/Yahoo rankings… And as a business, there’s not such thing as bad publicity. Because Making safe music in Gospel, ain’t really “a shelf mover” and Yes, some people actually care about that… Other wize Gospel CD’s would be free & certain artist would preform/minister before they got paid….LOL!

    Does he make valid points about Ministry, Yes! but so did the Pharisee’s & Jim Jones & David Koresh… and the list goes on… so now everyone playing his game… Even Craig lewis is talking about him, and bitten the bait to keep his name in the news…

    Tonex is no different then Paris Hilton was… doing everything for the moment of attention. Allowing scandals/drama/video tapes to “leak” so they can keep their name front & center.

  8. Czarina says:

    Romans 6, the whole chapter, specifically

    What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? 2By no means! We died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? Rom. 6:1

    and

    What benefit did you reap at that time from the things you are now ashamed of? Those things result in death! Rom. 6:21

    and better yet, how about Romans 2:5-11.

    I wish I could have the liberty to ask the question, “How do they justify themselves?” but I already know. I have known and do know people who justify their actions, no matter what they are because they believe that as long as you believe God is real, that theres no chance of going to hell. It really saddens me and sometimes I admit Im shocked, but as time goes on it makes less and less impact. Thats a bad thing.

    I know there will be people who read that and go along with it, but at the same time I have a peace that those who are truly Gods chosen, will come out of such mess and be brought to the real truth. For if the gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing (2 Cor. 4:3-4).

    Good post sis.

  9. Jason Im Saved says:

    I wish he would the remember the Personal Jesus he sung about.

  10. Lionel Woods says:

    Jenn you know I love you sister. I do have a problem however. I will send you a diaogue that I had with the brother over some heretical teaching. So the first problem is this brother may not be a brother to us at all. He currently holds to Oneness Pentacostalism (something I was a part of for the six years and I don’t believe I was a Christian either, just depends). However he also believes that you HAVE TO speak in tongues, and be baptized in Jesus’ name (listen to his Out of the Box CD). If we believe that holding to essential Christian doctrine such as the Trinity, Salvation by Grace through Faith and Baptism as only an evidence of an inner faith then we can’t hold him as a brother, but as someone who has redefined Jesus and therefore not a believer.

  11. Anna says:

    I remember hearing about him before all this started. How sad for him, really. What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world… yet loses his own soul.

    May others not be led astray.

  12. Kim Walker says:

    Thanks for speaking out on this. The church has to take a stand. Iv’e written Tonex and shared with him the Word. It’s important to state how we feel, even if he’s getting more publicity. When we say nothing, we are actually taking a stand as well. Let’s encourage others to do the same. Let’s inform the body as much as we can before this starts a domino effect. Let’s be bold and courageous to take a stand against the enemy. Let’s Pray and Speak Out and Against anything that opposes the body of christ.

  13. Lady Bug says:

    You know what? I won’t even excuse what he’s doing, because that’s plain wrong, and I won’t support his music although he’s a gifted artist, but I think the man is truly truly confused and troubled in his spirit, and has yet to get over his past and find peace of mind.

    If you don’t know, he’s been molested by a pastor/preacher at age 6, I think that’s where the rebellion comes from. Now when his father passed he took it upon himself to run his church not to let his legacy die (I believe he’s not ready for ministering yet, but nobody in the family did it so he decided to take the church). Last year he lost 5 very close relatives in a row (guess he had to take care of the funerals and things), I’ve listened to his latest interview that he posted in his MySpace blog, and Lord the man was crying when the interviewer prayed for him. Jesus, I could feel his pain, he explained his whole movement, and I really think he’s doing something wrong THINKING he’s actually helping people because he’s sharing what he truly believes based on his bad experience with the church. He also talked about his nightmare with the industry. I believe that he’s REALLY confused because he’s STILL dealing with identity crisis, that’s why there’s this “me, me, me” thing going on since he started his Gospel career – IDENTITY CRISIS.

    So yes we have to take a stand, but at the same time, could we pray for his soul to be saved? let us pray for him to find peace of mind, let us pray for him to come back to Jesus without rebellion, and repent from his sins daily, and get his act together. So that he won’t lead those people to hell with him! Hate the sin but PLEASE not the sinner, cause that won’t help him and that won’t help the lost sheeps that follow him. I’ve prayed for him so much since the “Naked Truth” thing, Lord knows this man needs PRAYERS. PLEASE Y’ALL, PRAY FOR HIM, HE IS STRUGGLING WITH HIS DEMONS!! HE IS SO CONFUSED, only the Lord knows what he’s going through. But he can’t lead people being in that state.

  14. Loyal@Love says:

    Every love on this man God continue to love and forgive us every day. Dont speak badly about our brother but too many of us use the mind of God and not to often the heart of God. Yes he got a couple of issues but we all do. But one thing that I heard him say is that he wants the help and say its some stuff that needs to be removed from him. But just using the mind of God alone is dangerous but love on that man because Jesus Christ continue to love us inspite of.

  15. WELL THE WHOLE TONEX ISSUE.HAS HIT THE WORLD AND THE KINGDOM LIKE A BOMB FROM HELL. FOR SURE. LETS START OFF WITH HIM AS HUMAN. DO I BELEIVE HE SAVED YES I DO. DO I BELIEVE HE ANGRY YES I DO. DO I BELIEVE HE HAS A I DENTIY CRISIS. YES I DO. DO I THINK HE IS TRANSPARENT. YES.THATS A PLUS. DO WHAT I THINK HE HAS DONE IS WRONG.

    DO I THINK HE NEEDS TO BE DELIVERD YES 100%.

    SO WHAT IS THE KEY TO ALL THIS GOING AWAY PRAYER AND SUPPLICATION. ALL OF US WHO KNOW THE LORD AND KNOW THAT HE IS STRUGGLING AND NEED DELIVERANCE.AND IT SHOWS IN HIS LIFE AND HIS SINNING. WITH OUT A DOUBT HE A GREAT PREACHER AND SINGER WHO IS IN A BAD STATE RIGHT NOW.AND NEEDS TO FIND HIMSELF. IN THE LORD.

    WELL PRAY MY STRENGHT IN THE LORD.

  16. Lost says:

    IDK where to begin…first I’d like to say to continue to pray for Tonex. and PRAY FOR ME TOO. i feel exactly like Tonex. We dont know what hes going through completely, thats between him and the Lord.
    I jus think hes saying that the church is full of hypocrisy because the same people who are quick to shout “AMEN! THAT’s RIGHT REV! BURN HIM AT THE STAKE! BURN ALL HIS CDS” and stone him are the SAME ones who be doin their stuff on the low. Its kind of ironic because he too is being hypocritical by using the profanity and all that.
    I wont go into the whole “gay debate” because that will just open a can of worms. But I will say, we ARE who we are. Being gay is not a choice. Honestly IDK what God feels about homosexuality. I read the scriptures people use to condemn gays and lesbians…idk…oops, didnt want to open the can lol
    But yeah pray for Tonex and all believers who feel like him (like me) because there is GOOD in the church. Let us EMBRACE HIM not condemn/stone him
    Good Bless, Lost

Leave a Reply

