Get Loose

I woke up this morning around 9a to the sound of thunder and to the image of lightning framing my window. I logged onto the weather site to see we were under a severe thunderstorm warning. I laid in bed and just marveled at how the environment that creates severe weather and tornadoes has no mind of its own, yet it can be so dangerous and can wreak much havoc. I listened to the thunder roar for about an hour. At times it was so loud… and I thought – Only GOD. That’s the only explanation for such a thing of wonder. Only God. Right now, it’s a hot and sunny 84 degrees out. And to that I say – only Texas. Our weather changes like mood swings. My father said that this may be the last rain we see for a while, and I told him – Knowing Texas, it could be storming in an hour. Our weather system here is, and has always been, interesting.

Today is my off day for working out, and to be honest, I feel odd not doing anything. I feel idle. I want to go running, biking, or something. I told myself earlier that if I do decide to work out today, then I can take an off day this week when I really need it. Yesterday, I was proud because I reached a new goal – 40 minutes on the treadmill which was a total of 1.89 miles. Yay! I had planned to do 25, but as 25 drew near, I thought – Why not do 30 ? And as 30 drew near, I thought – Why not do 35 ? And so… I ended up at 40. My goal is to go for an hour. I’ve been reading a lot of sites and I found out that cardio only burns off calories and fat while you do it. What really burns off fat and calories on an ongoing basis is strength training – lifting weights, crunches, pushups, etc. I’ve been making sure I get my water intake as well. While on the treadmill, I down a 20 ounce bottle of water, and in the mornings, I fill up my 2.2 liter jug and make sure that I am done with that by the end of the day. I’ve been taking my vitamins everyday and drinking a lot of soy milk. I love soy milk so it’s just icing on the cake that it is so good for you. I’ve also decided to start eating cereal in the mornings. My vitamins are supposed to be taken with food so I figured I should start my day off right with a food that is actually meant to be consumed in the mornings. This morning, I had oat cereal by Kashi along with some plain Silk soy milk. My 2nd meal, consumed in the afternoon, was a nutrition shake by EAS.

I’m really craving a Bloom Energy drink right now, but cannot find them. I was running some errands for my father yesterday when I saw them at Kroger. I picked up the cran raspberry one, got home, and drank it. It was sooooo good. What makes it even better is that it’s so good FOR you. Each can contains one full serving of fruit, calcium, B vitamins, 100% of the daily value of vitamin C, and is full of antioxidants. How can I not like it ? I looked for some today at 3 places by the house and I turned up nothing. However the gas station near me now sells my favorite flavor of vitamin water! I had it while on the East coast in April, but once I got back to Texas, it was nowhere to be found. So, that’s good news. I am very happy to see the XXX (triple antioxidants) formula in the fridge of the local gas station!

Eventually, I’d like to take up boxing / kickboxing. I’ve loved it for years and have always wanted to do it. I guess you could say that I like to fight. Growing up with 2 older brothers who liked to pick on me has its lasting effects I suppose… lol. I would never be in a sparring match; I’d just want to do it for fun and exercise.

I guess I’ll go check out Walmart and see if they have my Bloom.

Grace and peace.

4 thoughts on “Get Loose

  1. Rick says:

    This was my running night, but a thunderstorm has postponed it until tomorrow. Amazing show, I’m enjoying it out my back porch right now. I’ll get up a little earlier in the morning and get my run in.

  2. Ndidi says:

    Weird. It didn’t rain here in Denton on Sunday morn. It was bright and sunny! I got up at 7, 9 and 11 and can attest to the fact. When I’m done reviewing organic chem for the day, I’m off to the treadmill. šŸ™‚ I love vitamin water too!

  3. Abraham says:

    I don’t know why I was surprised we eat/drink some of the same stuff. I guess great minds think alike!

  4. nelle says:

    yes! silk soy milk w/kashi is the bomb!

Leave a Reply

