Charismatic Chaos

Before I headed out with a friend on Thursday afternoon, I was watching some show on television that had a segment on Bob Larson and his exorcisms. They further went to show how much money he made – tons of it. Then yesterday, I was looking at a site that discussed various false prophets, their twisting of Scripture, their fleecing, and their abuse of the people who follow them. It makes me so sad; it breaks my heart. There are people who will blindly follow men and defend them, but they won’t defend the Lord. I say this because – Many times when the failed ‘prophecies’, twisting of Scripture, greed driven lifestyles, and such are pointed out, people defend them. They protect them. And if you defend someone who is perverting the Word of God, then you don’t care about defending God.

I remember a time when I’d get up every morning to watch Creflo Dollar… even had one of his books. And then, I attended The Potters House every Wednesday evening and every Sunday morning, up at 7a. I was proud to say I went to that church, and it had nothing to do with Jesus. However, in all of those things, there was always something that kept me from getting too deep. I always had an odd feeling about those ‘ministries’, but I figured I was just having issues. That feeling never went away. And TBN ? I couldn’t stomach it for the most part. I remember, shortly before I became reformed, I was a poster child for TD Jakes and the Potters House. Although he never knew me, I was his advocate. I even defended his downright heretical view – modalism. Thankfully, by the grace of God, on a message board, a brother in Christ pointed out the errors of that line of thinking… and shortly afterward, I was in a Christian bookstore and picked up a book I’d strangely wanted for a while – Wayne Grudem’s ‘Systematic Theology’. I opened it up while in the bookstore, and what did I open it to ? The chapter on the Trinity. Talk about divine appointment. I sat down in the bookstore and read some of the paragraphs and it’s like a light went off in my head. Man, talk about His grace! I finally got it, and understood, and eventually I left that church, searched for a new one… ended up reformed (who knew?) and attending a Presbyterian (PCA) church. I get so saddened when I try to share the real Truths of God with someone who’s following Kenneth Copeland, TD Jakes, Eddie Long, Fred Price, Creflo Dollar, Benny Hinn, Paula White, or any of these others who fleece flocks and abuse / use Scripture for profit. The pure Truth of God and His Holy Word are much more valuable than what they have to offer. I am afraid that some may have hardened their hearts to the Holy Spirit. He’s our built in lie detector and when He lets us know something is up, we must yield and not ignore Him. Oh, if we harden our hearts, we harden our hearts to God, and we don’t want to do that.

Apostates and false prophets are all in and through the Church… and not just in the Western Church, but everywhere. It’s a sad thing, and it’s unfortunately misleading many people. And many people are also going to hell. Hearing a false gospel leads to false converts which means they don’t truly have Christ and they are not saved. They don’t have a pardon. This is partially why there are so many in these megachurches shouting and cutting a rug on Sunday, but when they leave, they’re cursing out the person in front of them for prematurely slamming on their brakes. Their lips say they love Jesus, but their lives say they hate Him. There’s no difference between the ‘believer’ and the world. The only time a Bible is cracked is on Sunday morning when the preacher instructs them to open it… and they scramble looking for easily located books such as the gospel of Matthew. Then the preacher spends the entire service on some self help, psycho-babble tip which has people shouting Hallelujah and Amen… for nothing. There’s no conviction, no solid Word, no need for a life change… It breaks my heart.

While reading the information on that site, I saw this quote:
I’m going to to tell you what blasphemy is! When God says you are the righteousness of God and you go around talking about, ‘I’m unworthy.’ That’s blasphemy!…Blasphemy is when you go against what God has said about your true self! OOOOh! We are so unworthy! Shut up with that blasphemy!….You are not a sinner saved by grace. You are sons and daughters of the Most High God! You are gods! You are God’s reflection on this planet. For you to say that thing is for you to count the blood of Jesus worthless. His blood was sent to cleanse you of your sin and you going around saying that you are still a sinner! What’s the matter with you?

And it slayed me… because I am sure that there were MANY in that congregation shouting Amen at that, not even seeking the Bible on that horrendous speech…

For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it; you will not be pleased with a burnt offering. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.
Psalms 51:16-17 ESV

If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.
1 John 1:8-10 ESV

The state of what is seen as the church is so heartbreaking to me. I just pray that God would save inspite of the wicked schemes and plots… that He’d be merciful yet again to us… I long for Him to return, but I pray for more time for these people to get it right and realize the perversion of God’s character and Holy Word that is taking place on such a large scale currently… I know that if it depresses me, it most definitely grieves my Father to the fullest.

The Gospel is being pimped and exploited. It’s used as a tool in order to mislead / misguide people, deceive people, and get money. It’s being twisted, misused, and ripped apart. Oh God, You gave us Your Word not so people could treat it like this! God’s Holy Word is used to make money off of people who really don’t have it.. 😦

Whenever you find a minister who is rich, watch out. Folk are not supposed to get rich in the ministry.
J Vernon McGee

My thoughts are all over the place it feels… but I’m so heartbroken and I’m so grieved right now… I wish it wasn’t so, but it’s been going on since Paul’s day… I pray more eyes are opened… There are probably those who will read this and roll their eyes and continue to follow false prophets, but I pray not so. If so many people are saying the same thing, don’t you think you need to truly consider that there may be something wrong ? There may be something to what is being said. Please, please don’t turn a blind eye. Seek the Scriptures in their purity and pray that the Holy Spirit guides you into true understanding…

Grace and peace. May God and God alone get all glory and honor.

If anyone teaches a different doctrine and does not agree with the sound words of our Lord Jesus Christ and the teaching that accords with godliness, he is puffed up with conceit and understands nothing. He has an unhealthy craving for controversy and for quarrels about words, which produce envy, dissension, slander, evil suspicions, and constant friction among people who are depraved in mind and deprived of the truth, imagining that godliness is a means of gain. Now there is great gain in godliness with contentment, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation, into a snare, into many senseless and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs. But as for you, O man of God, flee these things. Pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness. Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.
1 Timothy 6:3-12 ESV

9 thoughts on “Charismatic Chaos

  1. Bud Press says:

    Hi Jenn. As one who has researched and exposed Benny Hinn and many like him, your article touched my heart. God’s love and grace is truly amazing! God bless you…

  2. All I can say is wow, this so resonates with what happened to me years back. I remember my strong defense of the prosperity pimps, and I am ashamed of those days. But at the same time I’m glad that I went throught that, because now I can reach out to those who need help getting free from WOF. When I became Reformed I got nothing but attacks from people in my WOF church to that point that I left the church altogether for about a year. It’s funny that you ran from a peddler of modalism, because I ended up going to a Oneness Pentecostal church and that bishop there (who hated WOF) helped me to heal, forgive my old church, and move on to the ministry I’m currently in (I am an associate pastor in a Baptist church). Nevertheless God is good, and he is moving; I so love to hear stories such as yours.

    Stay strong sister,
    ~Scotty (a.k.a. Rev. Williams)

  3. Tyris Sr. says:

    Hey it is refreshing to see a young sister who is theologically correct. Praise the Lord for opening your eyes to the truth. You have a lot of information on your site and I will be sure to check out everything. Wow I can’t believe you went ot TD Jakes church-God is gracious In Christ-GOD Bless you

  4. Lionel Woods says:

    Love you Jenn, so many people have been duped and I feel bad for them sister. I look and I see they have an idol not the true and living God. As long as they are being blessed then them and God are good, but when he stops, then watch out. The problem is it ain’t their fault. This is how they came into the relationship. Someone promised them something in the name of Jesus that Jesus did not promise himself. Contintue to pray for them and expose these lies and as Paul told Timothy “maybe God will grant them true repentance”. God bless sister timely post!

  5. Enlighten says:

    You speak with honesty, Really most churches some to remind me of the Church of Corinth. I pray that God opens more eyes away and we as the Church truly challenge people to the hard pills of truth, and we will see who are the true belivers.

  6. LaRosa says:

    the sad thing is… this is the MAJORITY of black churches… it really grieves my spirit, and makes me furious all at the same time… no wonder my family and I are the only blacks in our church 🙂

    lj.

  7. Expo says:

    Jenn, I really appreciate this blog entry. You already know how I feel about these false teachers. It pains me to see these apostate teachers leading apostate flocks straight to hell. They are turning the truth of God into a lie and perverting the glorious gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. I pray that God would illuminate His truth to more who are stuck in these churches. He did it for you, and He did it for me. Love you sis,

  8. Jason Atkins says:

    yo jen,

    I’ve gone through the same feelings. All we can do is share the true gospel of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. That is the answer! If in the word of God lies the power unto salvation, then that is what we must preach! Nothing more and nothing less.

    (a little ephesians 5:11 work never hurt anybody either) BUT ultimately, the only cure for a spiritually dead person is a quickening. How will they hear without a preacher?

    If nothing else, let these sentiments remind you of the urgent need to share the gospel with the lost.

    j

  9. TikkiRo says:

    Superb post and solid sentiments. Sister after my own heart. I equally used to think some of these false teachers were ok up to a point, but it wasn’t until I heard Benny Hinn stating that Jesus was going to appear on stage with him at a rally that I started researching more and the more I read the more shocked I got. While I knew Hinn was a bit off the wall I didn’t realise just how much! I equally have tried to warn friends and family who think such teachers are “annointed” to no avail – my father-in-law who I respect as a wonderful Christian considers it wrong to judge some of these people because God is using them – I accept that does happen, but it doesn’t mean that they should be let loose on unsuspecting people while the rest of us stand idly by and watch without speaking up. Satan is racking up the heat because he knows his time is running out faster than ever, and deception is indeed rife within the church more than ever. Keep up the good work. Blessings, TKR

Leave a Reply

