Disciplines

I rather enjoyed the Tuesday workout – 20 minutes on the treadmill and my favorite DVD – Core Complete. Working out with a stability ball is pretty cool because it works out more than 1 thing. For instance, doing crunches on the stability ball – It works out your legs because you’re keeping balance on the ball, as well as your abs. Everytime you do any exercise on the ball, you’re always working out atleast 2 sets of muscles. I love it. Wednesday’s workout is just cardio so I’ll probably hit the treadmill for 35 minutes or get with a Firm or Taebo DVD. I kind of messed up with my eating Tuesday. My liquid intake consisted of vitamin water, pomegranate blackberry black tea, and lots of water. Foodwise, I had chicken wings (coated in a mixture of creole seasoning, light brown sugar, butter, soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, and ground mustard… that I cooked) and a chicken caesar salad from Olive Garden. Now, where’d I mess up ? I had oreo cookies and carrot cake! Ah! Temptation, they name is sweets. Anyhow, I just have to make sure I watch what I eat from this point on… and I really have to try harder to avoid sugary snacks.

I’m excited that I’ve kept up the discipline of constant workout. That’s truly nothing but God because sometimes, I don’t feel like working out, but at 26 years old, I have to be mindful of my health. I don’t want to be 30 having the health of a 60 year old. Now if only I could get my other disciplines going. It seems I have to focus on one at a time until I nail it. I want to get up at 4a every morning for prayer and Scripture. I want to dig deep into the Scriptures every single day. I want to get atleast 8 hours of sleep each night. I want to develop my prayer life more, but all of these things take work and much self denial. It’s so much easier to sit around and do nothing than to work and do something. I’m seeking God that I may be more disciplined in my life in all things. I’ve been seeing a lot of things I don’t like about myself lately that require discipline. I just have to keep praying and keep pushing… but it won’t come easy. It will be worth it though. It will serve to make me fit and healthy inside and out – physically, mentally, and spiritually.

Grace and Peace.

5 thoughts on “Disciplines

  1. faith215 says:

    Yeah man I’m suppose to be working out as I type so I preciate the conviction:-) Do you prescribe to everything in moderation concerning sweets or are you focused on cutting it out totally? I personally find that if I allow myself what I want in this area, I prefer the healthier foods over the sugary more times than not.

    Also vegan cooking may be a good alternative in this dept. There is a vegan spot here in philly where the owner makes sweet potatoe pie with no dairy and no sugar and the only difference from the stuff I’m use to is that it’s a more watery consistency for lack of a better term:) Not that it’s watery but well as I said for a lack of a better term, the actual taste is the same and I’m hoping to take advantage of her cooking classes soon. There are also vegan cakes that I like however I did learn from a baker that makes both vegan and non-vegan desserts that some vegan choices aren’t necissarily better for you because artificial products are being used to substitute that which the real deal provides naturally. So my ultimate goal is to do as much vegan cooking without it actually being a worse choice and when I do make say a cake with eggs sugar etc, using organic and doing substitutions so that it’s a healthier choice.

    On the discipline tip I feel u on that too, I am finding as I work out more I have more energy and am up earlier than normal hence my typing now and my need to stop so that I can get on the tredmill before I get ready for work. But as I was walking to my computer I was saying to self my need to schedule out my mornings to where I’m consistsantly praying reading my word and working out my temple, prayer not a problem but consistantly reading in the morning need to get at that better.

  2. Carlos says:

    I commend you. Trying to discipline one’s self is one of the hardest things to do. I’m still working on it.

  3. Anna says:

    I need to focus on working out, too. I’ve been bad about it lately.

    Do you do a specific daily program or something you made up for yourself?

  4. Claire says:

    Trying to discipline yourself is hard, may it be spiritually or physically. Like you said, it takes much self-denial. Thanks for the conviction and keep doing things for the glory of God.

  5. Ndidi says:

    Yes, with God’s help, I need to be discipline myself too. I just got into a Pilates routine, watching more carefully what I eat, and trying to carry out the Spiritual Disciplines. The greatest preachers, those who were the best in their field etc all had discipline. It’s sad that the world is more about reactive action than proactive action.

Leave a Reply

