Fitness to the Glory of God

I worked out Sunday, Monday, and today. I feel great, BUT I’m in pain. It’s a welcome part of my quest to honor God with my body (eating habits, maintenance of it, etc) because I know that something in there is getting worked on. I woke up this morning and my legs were sore. I could barely kneel to pick things up. Even now as I type this, my legs feel stiffer than cardboard, but I’m excited. As far as the vegetarian eating habits that I’d like to start, I received some help in that department. I read something where someone described eating meat as eating flesh and just referring to it as FLESH messed me up pretty badly. I thought to myself – Ew, disgusting! That didn’t stop me from having an oh-so-delicious teriyaki chicken sandwich from Subway though, lol. I have let go completely of cows and pigs. The only pork I really ever ate was pepperoni pizza, and beef ? I liked a good hamburger every now and then, but I’ve never been into steaks and such. I do have some spicy “chik’n” boca patties in the freezer right now. I must say – I love boca burgers and Silk Dream’s soy milk. I’m lactose intolerant so I can’t drink milk; I’ll get sick. I love cheese and yogurt and ice cream, but eating it comes with a cost.

I’m well on my way to eating better. No more sodas or energy drinks (Goodbye, Red Bull; I’ll miss you! *tear*), but lots of water, vitamin water, and Powerade. I want to stop eating after 8p, but I need to take baby steps first. Unfortunately, I’m used to an unhealthy lifestyle – eating whatever whenever I want, drinking sodas with everything, not drinking enough water. Not to say my health would be perfect, but with such a change in diet and activity, it’d be highly improved.

I’ve started so many times, but I’m praying and committing this to the Lord in hopes that it may glorify Him and that He may help me stick to it. Also, I feel that blogging about it will keep me accountable. To top it off, I don’t want to be married with children and unable to fulfill my duties as a wife and mother. That’s not going to cut it. I want to be healthy so that my body and health can glorify God and so that I can honor my family with it.

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.
Colossians 3:17 ESV

2 thoughts on “Fitness to the Glory of God

  1. andrew says:

    don’t worry, the soreness will go away eventually and if you keep up with it, you’ll rarely feel sore unless you work on a new body part or do a new exercise. and if you’re real consistent you’ll actually miss being a little sore cuz that was one way of knowing that you worked out. as for the change in diet, that’s a good thing and once you get into it on the regular, it’ll help with your workouts tremendously and help you either lose the weight you wanna lose or put on the muscle you want to put on. how you eat is key. man i love workin out and wish i could do it more than i’m able to now.

  2. Ndidi says:

    You inspire me. I’m starting my Pilates today. I love boca stuff and lots of soy. If I decide to be vegetarian, I’ll have fish – sushi, catfish, the works…
    I’m excited for you.

Leave a Reply

