World View

When I was in Maryland a couple of weeks ago, I stayed up late one night watching movies. I wasn’t sleepy and Aisha was asleep, so I watched Blood Diamond and Hotel Rwanda back to back. I own Hotel Rwanda, but hadn’t watched it so I thought – Why not ? What I saw in the movies angered me, grieved me, and absolutely incensed me. I’ve known about conflict diamonds for a while and have always said that in the case I ever do get married, any diamonds that are exchanged between my husband and I will be conflict free. No material object is worth dying or losing limbs over. I’ve never been into diamonds and rubies and stones like that, but even if I was – Is it worth someone’s death in exchange for accessorization ? Not at all. Hotel Rwanda had me in near tears quite a few times. Just knowing that it’s based on a true story… wow. I was 13 when the Rwandan Genocide happened. To know that we, the United States of America, a country that has more than enough as a whole… To know that we didn’t help them when we had all resources to help them is beyond me. We’re over there jacking up the Middle East for whatever selfish reason is behind the war, but we couldn’t help a country who TRULY needed us. How backwards is that… And even now, they need us in Darfur, but no, we’re too busy KILLING people – innocent men, women and children and soldiers – to help anyone. Truth be told, we should have BEEN gone from Iraq! Too many parents will never see their children again. Too many husbands and wives will not see their spouses again. Too many children will never see mom or dad (or both) again. What we should be doing, we’re not. What we shouldn’t be doing, we’re doing.

Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to do it.
Proverbs 3:27 ESV

According to Forbes, there are 946 billionaires. If they gave just a fraction of what they had, we’d be able to fund all kinds of programs. Children would be in homes, out of the sex trade, and taken care of. Countries would not experience so much famine. Wells could be built in countries where the water is of little or no supply. Sometimes I can understand why America is hated so much. Again… What we should / could do, we don’t. What we shouldn’t do, we do.

Even with sponsoring a child, many of us could afford $32 a month, but we’d rather purchase material things that we don’t need. We’d rather gorge ourselves on temporal things than show the glory and love of God by sacrificing in order to help someone live.

Proverbs 3:27 speaks volumes, and when I look around at this world, I rarely see it in action. People have so much, but give so little… all the while wanting more.

World Vision

Grace and Peace.

One thought on “World View

  1. Carrie says:

    Oh, I can’t believe you watched both of those movies in the same night. So disturbing and I had such a weird feeling of sorrow and guilt and grief. Why them and not us? God’s Grace is so amazing.
    And it makes me really think about the money I spend……do I really need those new shoes or could I do something for one of these little ones?
    Have you recieved the World Vision news letter about the water in Africa? We take our water so forgranted. Ugh! CONVICTION!
    I’m new to your blog, but I check in all the time. I wish I would have been as wise at 26 as you are…………God saved me later in life.
    Much love,
    Carrie

Leave a Reply

