The Beginning of Knowledge

On my last Sunday on the East Coast, I went to lunch in Maryland with my friends Brandon, Charaya, and Joe. While we sat there talking, we discussed how, no matter what you may do in a situation, you never really control the results. I can do all the ‘right’ things, but ultimately, it’s God in His sovereignty who decides what the outcome will be according to His perfect will. For instance, if a young lady likes a young man, but knows its not her role to pursue him, she can try to be places where she knows he is and she can do many things, BUT she can’t control dude’s heart inclinations. A tornado could be on the ground, and you can go in the bathroom and hide in the tub, but you can’t control what the tornado will do. You can take all precautions and be the safest person on the planet, but you can’t control what will happen. Although it is a sensitive topic, I was watching the news a couple of weeks ago when I learned that one of the students that escaped from VA Tech on the day of the shootings was killed in a car wreck about a week later. We control nothing. We can affect the circumstances, but we can’t control the outcome. That is something I have been reminding myself of more and more lately. I can do all that I can do in any given situation, but ultimately, I have no control in what will happen. I can just do my best. I can apply for 100 jobs and not get one. I can take plenty of vitamin C and eat right and exercise, but I can still get sick… I could still get cancer, I could still get illnesses, I will still die. To flip it around, some of my closest friendships are with people that I’d never imagined would be in my life. Sure, I met them and we became associates initially, but I never imagined they’d be such huge influences in my life. I didn’t set out to make those friendships, but thanks to God’s grace, I’m blessed to have them. In that, I was just going about daily life when God decided to strengthen those bonds. And even though I wasn’t looking for those friendships, God still provided what I needed in my life. I am glad I am not the one in control.

Now that the month of May is upon us, I’ve started reading a chapter of Proverbs a day. A while back, my sis in the Faith, Misha, pointed out to me that there ARE 31 chapters in the book of Proverbs so it would be a good practice to read a chapter a day. Within the 1st chapter of the book of Proverbs lies one of my favorite verses – verse 7:

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge…
Proverbs 1:7 ESV

Proper reverence and respect for God and His character is the beginning of any kind of knowledge and / or wisdom that one can possess. It is the foundation of true knowledge and wisdom. When your view of God is proper and it reflects in your submission to Him, this is where He, the Divine Teacher, can begin to school you. There are many people who think they are wise, but are not because they lack the proper response to a Holy God. Sure they make great business moves, they have 4 degrees, and really know how to invest their money, but if they do not respond properly to God’s character, it matters not.

It is pouring rain outside right now, so I should sleep. I love sleeping when it’s pouring outside. It is something so peaceful and calming about it. Earlier, I just stood outside in the rain. To some, that may be odd, but I absolutely love the rain. Storms I can do without, but rain on its own = beautiful. Cleansing and beautiful.

One thought on “The Beginning of Knowledge

  1. Joseph Delacruz says:

    “For instance, if a young lady likes a young man, but knows its not her role to pursue him, she can try to be places where she knows he is and she can do many things, BUT she can’t control dude’s heart inclinations. A tornado could be on the ground, and you can go in the bathroom and hide in the tub, but you can’t control what the tornado will do. You can take all precautions and be the safest person on the planet, but you can’t control what will happen.”

    The former resonates with a recent chord in my life. I totally know what you mean. Trusting in God and his perfect sovereignty is a struggle for me at times. But I know it most definitely shouldn’t be. I didn’t know that the conversation we had that day would spark you to think about God’s sovereignty in this way. But now I understand.

Leave a Reply

