Peace With God

I am really REALLY getting greatly fed through my study of Romans. Not to say I wouldn’t be greatly fed through ANY book of the Holy Bible, but this study is just so awesome. Today’s study is on Romans 5 and Romans 6. I just finished verses 1 – 11 of chapter 5 which is titled ‘Peace with God Through Faith’.

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person–though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die– but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.
Romans 5:1-11 ESV

For any Christian, it is well worth really studying the book of Romans. We will understand so much more concerning our salvation. We are justified through faith which brings about the peace of God through Christ. Through Christ, we have gone from recipients of God’s wrath to recipients of God’s grace. We go from being estranged from God to peace with God, from falling short of His glory through our sin to hope of God’s glory, from suffering as judgement to joy in tribulations, and from fearful uncertainty to assurance of God’s love. Our sufferings produce endurance / perseverance. That, in turn, produces character, and that character produces hope. This hope is not a wishful thinking. We can hope for a new car, hope for more money, hope for sunshine on a rainy day, but there’s no assurance that those things will happen. The hope we have in Christ is an assured hope. The love of God that believers have poured into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom is GIVEN to us, produces this assurance. The love of God in our hearts that we have through Christ assures us that we belong to Him. This sense of belonging, in turn, produces that hope.

I love the part that says that while we were still weak, Christ died for us. In the Barnes’ commentary in my E Sword program, it says – The word used here, asthenoÌ„n, is usually applied to those who are sick and feeble, deprived of strength by disease. When we were in that state, Christ died for us at the right time. When we were still sinners following our own way, God showed His awesome love for us in sending His Son – Jesus the Christ – to die for us and take on all of God’s wrath. People will barely die for a righteous or a good man and we are NEITHER! Christ died for rotten sinners. It is not based on our own character, but on the character of God. Based on His love for us, Christ died to reconcile us to the Father. We’re justified by Christ’s blood so that we (believers in Christ Jesus) do not have to bear the wrath of God ourselves. Because Jesus Christ took on God’s wrath on the cross, there is none left for us, believers in Christ Jesus, to bear. His death reconciled us; His life keeps us. We’re reconciled through Christ to God. To reconcile is to bring into harmony, to reestablish a close relationship with. Our sin drove us away from God; Christ’s blood brings us back.

Ahhh, glory to the Lord alone! Isaiah 53 is an awesome passage to read along with Romans 5.

3 thoughts on “Peace With God

  1. Brandon barnes says:

    Beautiful treatment of Romans 5 and the peace that we have with God, through Christ’s sacrificial death on our behalf. I love this passage. It must be understood that this is not a subjective “peace”. This is not an “at ease” kind of “peace”. This should not be used to say that, “Oh, I just feel…so peaceful now”. No, this is an objective Peace. There is actual Peace where there was war. There used to be emnity between God and man, but Christ, the true “Jacob’s Ladder”, Christ the “Veil Ripper”, Christ the GodMan, is our propitiation, our mediator.

    Please also let the readers read Isaiah 53 along with this.

    Great Post Jenn!

    Love you sis

    Bond

  2. Micky says:

    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

  3. Hey I really like the part “suffering produces endurance and endurance character”… I want character but it seemd that right now I’m getting suffering. I’ve taken a stand to walk like Jesus dedicating my life to Christ and no more just saying I’m a christian. I’ve done that for waaaayyyyy to long. But I’ve been reading and really trying to apply what I’ve been reading, but this stand has brought more temptations. Not that I’ve been trying in my own strength! But I want character……Christ’s character… I want folks to see Him in me. And for that I get sufferings from temptations… BUt I said all that to say thanks for the post it’s encouraging sis. Peace and Chicken Grease!

Leave a Reply

