Danger and Depravity

Tonight was a night that unfortunately had me unnerved. It’s tornado season here in Texas, and although in my 26 years, I’ve never seen one, I’m not wanting to. We were under a severe thunderstorm warning and a nearby city was under a tornado warning. All 4 of the major news stations had coverage on and they were all saying what a dangerous storm this could be. Traffic was backed up on I-20 and in Arlington, sirens were going off. I immediately started to gag. I hate this about myself, but when there is tornadic weather, I get sick. It’s a weird thing. I was in the kitchen making a sandwich and as soon as I heard the news, I was no longer hungry. I took my sandwich to the room anyway and prayed. I felt at ease and knew that if I watched the news reports, I’d be sick again. I turned off the TV and computer and sat at the edge of my bed with my Bible and commentary out. From the living room television, I heard them say that the rotation had weakened. I breathed a sigh of relief.

0404weatherlightning.jpg

I was checking out one of the local news sites and they have this BEAUTIFUL picture of the lightning that was out and about tonight. I saw this picture and I sat there with my mouth open. Although the storm tonight was dangerous, what a beautiful show of lightning this is! And then some of the earlier news reports were talking about EGG SIZED HAIL! EGG! Chunks of hail as big as an EGG, wow. I didn’t get to see any of that weather. We just got rain in this area. Earlier reports had said there was no tornado, but later, the news stations received a picture of a tornado that had touched down in Arlington. The weather is amazing. These things have no minds; they are a result of their environment, yet they serve their purpose. Tornados, tsunamis, hurricanes. The conditions have to be right for them to occur… and even with those natural things, God made those. He allows those. These things, like lightning shows, are beautiful to watch, but from afar. They are quite deadly and dangerous just the same.

surreal.jpg

Some of the storm pictures look so surreal… Some look like paintings! The weather is very cool to look at from afar. I just don’t like being in the midst of it when it gets bad. I look forward to September when tornado season is over. Hopefully, by then, I’ll be in Philadelphia.

I’m reading this news site that reports only certain kids of news, and they had a link to this story:

Jonathan Goodrum, who pleaded guilty to the attempted rape of a 1-day-old girl, plans to request a DNA test in April to determine if the child is his daughter.

The rape is said to have occurred at McKenzie Regional Hospital on March 24, 2006, when the child was 1 day old. Authorities have said the baby was assaulted with some type of object.

If the child is his, Goodrum, 20, said he plans to petition the Carroll County Juvenile Court for visitation rights.

Source:
Goodrum, guardian speak out in baby rape

I don’t even have words for it. The only thing I can do is sit here in shock. How in the world do you RAPE a 1 DAY old baby ? And then you admit to it by pleading guilty, then say you want visitation rights ? This kind of stuff makes it hard for me to pray for mercy for people. I acknowledge the total depravity of mankind, but still, things absolutely shock me. How could you rape your child ? And then the baby is a day old ? She’s brand new to this world and you do this to her ?! She’s a little over a year old now and I pray that she grows in Christ. I pray she comes to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ and that her life is strong and fully in Him. And even though it’s hard, I pray mercy for the man’s soul who would do this to his own flesh and blood, a child, or any defenseless victim. On the same site, I read another story about a man who infected his 5 year old daughter with gonorrhea, which she will possibly have to deal with for the rest of her life.

There is a chance that his daughter will suffer from future infertility, the judge noted.

Last October, Croll found the 47-year-old man, who cannot be named, guilty of sexual assault causing bodily harm and the sexual touching of his daughter in July 2001.

I pray for both of these little girls, that the Lord will save them, and that they will be faithful and obedient women of God who serve Christ with all of their hearts.

The epitome of radical corruption… I do realize that, if it wasn’t for the grace of God, I could be out there doing sin and loving it with no remorse, but I’m thankful that He saved me and has changed me.

I pray the Lord Christ continues to have mercy on us all. I pray that more hearts come to know Him.

3 thoughts on “Danger and Depravity

  1. Lionel Woods says:

    It makes my skin crawl to see such heinous acts being perfomred on children (I wouldn’t want an adult to experince it either). It makes it even harder when it is a parent. I sometimes ask God why does he allow such wickedness but I have to step back because I know I am treading in dangerous waters. I see how Peter felt when he asked the Lord “should we call down fire from heaven”. I am glad that he does not give us that type of power. To be real sometimes I have to force myself to pray for these individuals, however, I did a lot of dirt when I was coming up and someone prayed for me. Great post. God bless.

  2. Kind of a downer post, but one that made me treasure my little people all the more.

    As Hank Jr. would say, “I’d love to spit some Beech-Nut in that dude’s eye and shoot him with my ol’ .45.”

    I know vengence is His, but this is one of those instances where I think many would volunteer for the right/privilege of being agent of God’s justice.

    That’s about all I can say about that before I cross the line in my anger.

    Prayerfully,
    Gunny

  3. Asia says:

    Wow, it makes me sad to know a CHILD could be rape or anyone of any age. I pray for people who do this and the people who have been rape. It crazy to know this. I have heard SOME REALLY CRAZY things about rapeing. I heard ppl say say if they rape a child they could get ride of their AIDS. But Im praying

Leave a Reply

