Changes

Although quite obvious, seeing there’s no flowers and sunshine, the site’s been redesigned. I loved the brightness of the flowers, but I wanted a change. I wanted a basic design that incorporated three of my favorite colors – dark red, black, and white. It’s simplistic. I was studying Tuesday evening when the idea to redesign came to me, so after some hours of nonstop working, here it is. The content is still the same with the exception of more music being added to the music room. I pray the site continues to glorify God and edify His people. I pray that the Lord would also somehow use my little site to bring a nonbeliever to saving faith in the Lord Christ Jesus.

I was reading through Romans 1 yesterday and there were certain verses that caught me. I’ve read these verses before, but yesterday ? It was like I was really thinking about them for the first time. If I may share some of my notes…

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith for faith, as it is written, “The righteous shall live by faith.”
Romans 1:16-17 ESV

Although many see the message of the Cross as foolishness, Paul refused to be ashamed because it is the very message of salvation. It is the power to save souls. This is nothing to be ashamed of. It’s the very power of God. In the Gospel, the Good News of Christ, God’s righteousness is revealed. To be righteous is conforming to God’s perfect law and Holy character. We cannot do this. We cannot be righteous on our own. The Gospel shows how God imputes Christ’s righteousness to us because we have none on our own.

For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith for faith, as it is written, “The righteous shall live by faith.”
Romans 1:17 ESV

The just shall live by faith… not by works, but by faith in Christ alone. We must depend on AND trust God. We shall live by our faith in Christ our King. We shouldn’t trust ourselves or try to do this on our own accord. We must live by faith in Christ alone.

Everytime I study, I ask the Lord to wash me, purify me, change me, and transform me through His Word. I pray what Jesus prayed in John 17:17 – Sanctify me in the Truth; Your Word is Truth. To conform to His Word is an awesome thing because I know it’s not me, but Him working in me. I look forward to the changes that God is working within me. It’s scary at times because God doesn’t work like us. When we pray for patience, for instance, we can tend to think that we’ll wake up one day and be the most patient person in the world. However, this is not how it works. In the vein of Romans 8:28, sometimes God allows things to happen that bring about the virtue you’re seeking. However, I’m getting to a point where I’m letting go more. For a while, I tried to have a ‘reign’ on God. I’d pray for certain things yet I’d be scared how the Lord would work them out. Just being honest. I’m not how I used to be, yet I still have my moments. I pray about it though because there’s no need in fearing anything when your complete and total trust is in God. Faith is faith; trust is trust. There’s no halfway. That’s like being halfway dead or halfway pregnant – impossible… so I pray that the Lord strengthens my trust and faith in Him as I continue this incredible walk.

Grace and Peace.

3 thoughts on “Changes

  1. Pastor G. says:

    I love the insight and the thought process. My assistant did a series on Romans and it was incredible. It has been refreshing to go back trough it. One of the things that I love about Gods word, is that it is alive and it’s fresh and new everytime I read it. You can’t read His word and not get a fresh insight each and everytime. It’s incredible and so is He.
    Bless u
    Pastor G.

  2. Bless you Jenn, this is good and sobering, because their is no righteousness outside of Jesus Christ, simply put. Thank you for studying your notes with us and for even sharing your focus in prayer, that is awesome and I am truly thankful for your heart and your transparency. I believe that everybodys prayer should be that he strengthens our faith and trust in HIM!

  3. Eddie says:

    Hey Jenn, love the new look on the site. Keep it poppin for CHRIST!

Leave a Reply

