Pilgrim’s Progress

I love this part in the Pilgrim’s Progress:

Then said the man, ‘Neighbours, wherefore are ye come?’ They said, ‘To persuade you to go back with us.’ But he said, ‘That can by no means be; you dwell’, said he, ‘in the City of Destruction (the place also where I was born), I see it to be so; and, dying there, sooner or later, you will sink lower than the grave, into a place that burns with fire and brimstone: be content, good neighbours, and go along with me.’

‘What!’ said Obstinate, ‘and leave our friends and our comforts behind us!’

‘Yes’, said Christian (for that was his name) because that ALL which you shall forsake is not worthy to be compared with a little of that which I am seeking to enjoy; and, if you will go along with me, and hold it, you shall fare as I myself; for there, where I go, is enough and to spare. Come away, and prove my words.’

2 thoughts on “Pilgrim’s Progress

  1. lrogers says:

    That book is cool.

  2. Rick says:

    Amen. That passage works on several different levels.

Leave a Reply

