Psa 51:3 – For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.
Ephesians 5:15-17 ESV

I’ve been thinking about time lately… mainly in reference to my time that is spent with Christ and the things thereof. I know for a fact that I spend entirely too much time doing things that really don’t matter. I love surfing the net, looking at news sites, even fashion sites. I love to listen to WOTM, love to update my podcasts, and so much more… but I find myself just on the net doing nothing. It’s rather lame. I can sit here for hours checking my myspace, my facebook, my email, updating podcasts, checking the news, looking at music sites and message boards… all USELESS stuff. While certain things are edifying, I find myself sleepy when I get off so I lay down or do OTHER things. My Bible study time and my reading time, and my time with the Father period, are slacking greatly. Last night, I read Titus and it wouldn’t sink in, so I laid in bed and read through the 1st couple of chapters of The Case for Christ before sleep hit me and forced me into submission. And today, I didn’t get much done except for some cooking and cleaning. With that said, I have to make it an urgent need to spend time in prayer, seeking to better manage my time.

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.
2 Timothy 2:15 ESV

I don’t see how some Christians can go days without prayer and studying. For me, it messes me up when I go without one or the other. I can see the affects on my life, my convictions, my behaviors, my reverence and love for God. If you don’t feed something, it’ll eventually get weak and just get weaker until you feed it again. And even when you feed it, it will take some time for it to get back to where it was before you stopped feeding it. It takes a minute for it to be robust again. I don’t want to ever get to a point where I am so weak that I have to ‘rebuild’. You know, I hate this flesh, this wicked heart. Knowing what you need to do is one thing. DOING IT ? That’s another. Sometimes I’m just like, LORD, please! My flesh disgusts me. My sin nature disgusts me. I’m thankful that I do not have to depend on myself only to live this life so that it is pleasing in God’s eyes because I’d SORELY fail.

I thank him who has given me strength, Christ Jesus our Lord, because he judged me faithful, appointing me to his service, though formerly I was a blasphemer, persecutor, and insolent opponent. But I received mercy because I had acted ignorantly in unbelief, and the grace of our Lord overflowed for me with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus.
1 Timothy 1:12-14 ESV

I also cannot understand how one can examine themselves…

Examine yourselves, to see whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Or do you not realize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?–unless indeed you fail to meet the test!
2 Corinthians 13:5 ESV

… without proper appropriated time to study and prayer. How can you know and have assurance without constant communing with the Father and without constant time in His Word ? How can we know how to live our lives without knowing His instruction ?

Cease to hear instruction, my son, and you will stray from the words of knowledge.
Proverbs 19:27 ESV

We will suffer without spending time with the Father. This is not religion; it is a relationship with the Son, with the Father, with the Holy Spirit. A relationship is not one sided.

re·la·tion·ship
1. a connection, association, or involvement

With all that being said, I feel, and have been feeling, a Spirit led urge to make some major changes that I KNOW I cannot make without the help of my Father in Heaven. On my own, I’ll mess EVERYTHING up. I’m so dependent on Him. I really am. I’m learning just HOW MUCH more and more, lately. I need Him to help me with everything. I need Him to enable me to do everything. I need Him to get up, to breathe, to shower, to laugh, to smile, to cry. He is the one who gave me the very faculties used to execute those actions. My Lord is so gracious. I need Him so badly. I’d die without Him. I’m so thankful that He has overlooked my faults and my sinful horridness. With that said, I’m going to dive into the Scriptures, a book, prayer, then bed.

Grace and Peace.

One thought on “Psa 51:3 – For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me

  1. Lrogers says:

    Time management is something that i am working on , I never want to give God my second best, He is awesome and he deserves my first – my all ,my everything , including my time. Man that blog made me feel as you say it — “krunchy” . lol

Leave a Reply

