Jesus is NOT Your Homeboy

People have such a skewed and wrong view of God and Heaven and Christ. I was bloghopping and came across what I think is a celebrity’s blog and about Anna Nicole Smith, the following was written:

I hope that she is happy now, where she is. It is easy to picture her there, riding the clouds, her young son at her side, a million miles above the paparazzi and the tabloids, the gossip columns and the lawsuits and Bobby Trendy and Trimspa and the rest. I hope she feels thin, and nothing is bugging her, and that she doesn’t have any more doubts or worries.

So many people think ‘good’ people go to Heaven, and while I do feel sorry for Anna Nicole and the things she dealt with during the last years of her life, we must realize how much of the stuff was self inflicted. Even with the Britney Spears hoopla in the news lately, I feel sorry for her as well, but again… How much of this is self inflicted ? And how many people know and acknowledge that, unless Anna Nicole, or ANY sinner, entrusts themselves to Jesus as their Lord and Savior, they aren’t in Heaven. And when will people realize that what WE deem as ‘good’ is like filthy rags in God’s eyes ? It really ISN’T good. And even if it is a ‘nice’ thing that is done, what’s the motive ? Is the end motive to please and glorify God ? If not, it’s selfish.

I shake my head when I see the sites / myspaces of different celebrities and models who are on their pages half naked, drinks in hand, blogging entries laced with profanity about the various people they’ve slept with, yet when you get down to “What’s your favorite book?”, you see “The Bible”, and when you see the question, “Who is your hero?” or “Who do you love?”, the answer is… you guessed it – Jesus Christ.

Now, true, the Bible COULD be the favorite book. That I won’t knock. While to me, it’s God’s revelation of Himself, to the next person, it may be a ‘moral manual’ or a ‘good collection of stories’. However, if Christ were your hero and the object of your love, your life would reflect this. So many are confused, fed the wrong thing, or just plain choose to ignore the obvious. Paul said it best in his letter to the Romans:

For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened.
Romans 1:21 ESV

Jesus is not your ‘homeboy’. God is not sending everyone to Heaven. Jesus is Lord. God is Holy.

One thought on “Jesus is NOT Your Homeboy

  1. Rachel says:

    I have never like that phrase. Ever. Even when I didn’t TRULY understand God’s holiness, I couldn’t stand that phrase. I wasn’t exactly sure why, but it always seemed to make mockery of Him. *shrugging* But the phrase is not necessary unbiblical, Jesus IS a friend to those who follow Him…but it’s just that He’s also SO much more. I don’t know.

    And yeah, it REALLY, and I mean REALLY grates my nerves, too, to see that…the Bible is their favorite book, Jesus is their hero…and I don’t think that it IS, for the majority of them, their favorite book or hero at ALL…just as they put up those horrid pictures and things to look good to others, they post up the Word and the name of Jesus to look good, too. Gotta balance it out. Cause no matter how “cool”, “bad”, “sexy”, “hot” you look- you GOTTA look at least a LITTLE religious. Add some class to your act, you know?

    Just my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

