THE Gospel

I heard an amazing testimony today. It was by Charo Washer, the wife of missionary and evangelist Paul Washer of Heart Cry. She spoke of, how at age 32, she became saved after going through the motions for years. She’d been a missionary, sharing the Word of God with many, and had an impressive ‘Christian resume’ but she was never a true Christian. I don’t want to give too much away so please read her testimony here or listen here. I will say this — It caused me to search my heart and go before the Lord desiring confirmation. In no way was I crucifying my Lord all over again, but just desiring assurance. I was speaking with a friend last week about a few things I have been dealing with and we both discussed how, in the past, this passage of Scripture has had us both nervous:

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’ And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’
Matthew 7:21-23 ESV

Who wants to be that person who THINKS they are saved but find out when it’s entirely too late ? So many ‘Christians’ are going to hell because of blindness and a deceitful heart… especially many of those sucked into the health / wealth / prosperity gospel that many wolves are teaching these days. So many have turned Christ into a magic genie, a blessing vending machine… and it’s sad and so very evil.

A few months ago, I watched this clip on a news site and found myself getting EXTREMELY angry. And what gets me is this — the # of people who are ready to defend this heretical gospel. In the clip, the ‘pastor’ tells of how his congregation gave him a jet and a vehicle. WHAT!? He needs a jet because the airlines don’t fly his schedule!? Man… What about all of these other pastors (and even music artists) who use good ol’ airlines to fly to TONS of places, to participate in various engagements? It makes me SO MAD. There’s even a woman on the clip who says the Kingdom of Heaven SHOULD be rich. Where is this in the Holy Bible ? Sometimes I wonder why the Lord hasn’t offed these people yet. I will be honest and say that. I know it’s not the most LOVING thought, but it kills me inside to know that so many people are being coaxed into hell through these various prosperity ministries. The ‘pastor’ in the clip ends the interview by saying, “As long as we can see lives change and hope restored, it’s worth it all”. Even worth going to hell and being responsible for helping others there !? A muslim can have a changed life and restored hope, but does that mean they have Christ ? No, and that is the most important factor in it all — Christ the King. Not money, not cars, not houses, not a ‘changed life and restored hope’, but JESUS. Where is the Gospel these days ? The TRUE Gospel ?

For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths.
2 Timothy 4:3-4 ESV

Welcome, ladies and gentlemen.

I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting him who called you in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel– not that there is another one, but there are some who trouble you and want to distort the gospel of Christ. But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach to you a gospel contrary to the one we preached to you, let him be accursed. As we have said before, so now I say again: If anyone is preaching to you a gospel contrary to the one you received, let him be accursed.
Galatians 1:6-9 ESV

8 thoughts on “THE Gospel

  1. Rikki says:

    Good word, Jenn. I’ve been meditating on the passage from Matthew recently also. And every time I do, I think of the “prosperity gospel”. You’re right..it’s sad…and VERY EVIL.

  2. Jerry aka Jeyjey34 says:

    This is an excellent post. I also think about the Matthew 7:21-23 passage because I see people everyday claiming to be saved, yet they are still doing the same things as before. Yes, there is a process, but eventually some changes should be evident and I don’t see them. As for myself, I when I compare that passage to my own life, if anything it reassures me that I am saved because I certainly don’t act, think, or talk the way that I used to and I continue to grow each day as I commune with God. Prasie God!

  3. Gloria says:

    Jen,
    Mrs. Washer’s testimony is awesome. Her talk of desiring God is what really hi the nail on the head. We TRULY can’t desire to do His will without His help. Wow…we CAN’T desire it. It’s so easy to go through the motions and to imitate godliness; to compare ourselves with other Christians instead of His holy word…Oh my goodness…seriously even as I type I am examining myself…am I truly in the faith? Her testimony is a show of truly how gracious He is and how amazing His grace is. He draws us and is SO patient, SO loving…and even more merciful. Man, He condescended to reconcile us. Salvation is a miracle. Thanks for posting this.

    In Christ.

  4. LaRosa says:

    I feel you 100% sis. I remember when WOTM Radio was talking about this particular news story the other day, and I couldn’t help but to have the exact same thoughts that you have had. It’s pretty interesting that you would quote that passage from Matthew 7; I am currently reading John MacArthur’s “Charismatic Chaos” which deals with the issues of spiritual gifts and many things going on in the charismatic & WOF movements, and this passage rings very loudly in my ears. Why? Because it is these people who still claim that the miracle gifts are still present today and place such emphasis on that, instead of the heart of the gospel (repentance & faith). And here, Jesus is saying “you say you did this & that in My name, but it’s all lawlessness.”

    Overall, I think much of the Western church has things twisted in reference to the gospel and church. They are trying to basically make God out to be a genie in a lamp and fulfill the American dream under the guise of church and service to God. If the gospel was all about health & wealth, then why weren’t the apostles & early churches focused more on that? Or why isn’t it explicitly stated in the NT?

    The people are truly gravitating towards whatever is tickling their ears. There’s also a passage found at 2 Peter 2:1-3 that speaks on this too:

    1 But false prophets also arose among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you, who will secretly bring in destructive heresies, even denying the Master who bought them, bringing upon themselves swift destruction. 2 And many will follow their sensuality, and because of them the way of truth will be blasphemed. 3 And in their greed they will exploit you with false words. Their condemnation from long ago is not idle, and their destruction is not asleep.

    But yeah, I’m grieved, and it’s why I’m personally on a pursuit for biblical truth, that I can then accurately share with others. I don’t want to deny the One who gave me life eternal.

    lj.

  5. ROB says:

    Hey Jen,

    I know I haven’t been saying much lately but on this one I’ll speak. I agree with the majority of this post because there are MANY that say they are saved but really are not because many only believe with their heads but not with their hearts so no fruit appears. There are also many teachers who I believe are greatly erring with the unbalanced prosperity message and it sickens me as well. I’ll holla privately about what I question about.

  6. Asia says:

    Hey Jenn

    I love this post. I have thought about that too and it makes me mad. I don’t know how some preachers live with themsleves. So sad.

  7. Aaron says:

    Thanks for the compelling post. I come back to that scripture all the time, always examining myself if I am in the faith and always thanking my heavenly father for the grace and the cross. I am a WOF believer (gasp!) and I understand your scrutiny of the message and of others who have left a comment. My pastor said on Sunday that America was the only nation not exploding with growth around the world, and I’m convinced this is because of our selfish greed and lust for wealth and things of this world. I do believe Christians should prosper, as it is written in 1 John, but this prosperity is to be shared with the poor, the destitute, just like the Apostles in the early church. America is so full of wealth. Prosperous Christians don’t agree with prosperity. It’s funny. They are a thousand times richer than 90 percent of the world’s population. America is prosperous. Maybe the best thing for the American church and our nation is for Christians here to repent of their lust for the things of this world and start sharing their bread with the hungry (Isaiah 58). Keep walking with Jesus!

  8. Keziah says:

    What an amazing testimony! Thank you so much for sharing that.

Leave a Reply

