My chief end

It is during the pursuit of Holiness that I see how far off from the mark I am. It’s also during my times of intense pursuit do I get the most discouraged. It’s an interesting situation. I’ve been going through this lately and it can be really debilitating. There’s a cliche that I have heard in churches growing up that goes, “I’m not what I should be, but thank God I’m not what I used to be”, and while that is true, I don’t want to be complacent. I don’t want to be satisfied with the fact that the Lord grants us mercy to use that as an excuse to not love Him with my everything. I want to pursue Him. I want to glorify Him. But realizing just how filthy your rags are can be disheartening. I thank God that we are not left to serve Him with our strength and our strength alone. I do thank Him that His Grace drew me and that He continues to pour Mercy upon me daily. I so need it. We all do. Eventually, I am going to take a sabbatical from certain things so that I can get it in with the Father one on one, so that I can see Him without distraction. I want to give Him what He deserves… and depend on my Helper – the Holy Spirit to enable me to do what I cannot.

I am thankful for the friendships that have been developing lately – solid sisters and brothers in the Lord. Recently I have been building with a sister in Christ, Misha, that I met on a Christian hip hop forum where I am a staff member. The Lord has really used her to encourage me and remind me of the Scriptures. I visited a new church tonight and called her to let her know that I was going. We talked and prayed together before I headed out. I love that. I pray the Lord blesses me with more sisters like that here in Texas.

I changed out the music and sermons in the music room so I pray that it’s all a blessing to those who visit and listen.

I am almost done being sick, glory to God! Now, I have a pesky cough and my voice fades in and out, BUT – I am almost 100%! I am going to work in the morning so I need to shut the computer down so I can make it there on time, well rested, full of joy.

Ever since I read Keziah’s entry concerning the Westminster Shorter Catechism, that 1st part has been stuck in my mind incessantly:

Q. 1. What is the chief end of man?
A. Man’s chief end is to glorify God,[1] and to enjoy him forever.

This will be the 2nd time I have taken a page out of her book (ha!), but I do think the Shorter Catechism would be wonderful to dive into.

Off to bed I go… not before I have had a lovely dose of Vicks 44 for this annoying cough!

Oh, and yes… Thank You Lord for hearing our prayers concerning our brother in Christ, Dr. Al Mohler. You’re awesome, Lord God!

One thought on “My chief end

  1. Keziah says:

    Hope you are feeling better from your cough and cold. I’m honouted that you are taking any pages from my book so feel free to steal away! I am so glad that other people have found the Catechism helpful. I’m really enjoying the discipline of going through it – even if I do look a little odd wandering down hospital corridors mumbling my catechism and my scripture memory verses!

Leave a Reply

