Sick and discouraged

It’s 4a and I am up. Why ? Because for the last 2 nights, I have been going to bed at an ODD hour – 9p and 8p. Strange, I know, I know. I’ve been sick… and I am not sure what it is, but I have been treating myself with hot tea, orange juice, LOTS of rest, and Tylenol Cold Multipurpose (which tastes like you’re drinking Listerine *yuck*). I have to be at work at 8a and although I’d LOVE to take the day off to continue recuperating, I don’t think my employer would be too pleased with that. Speaking of employers, I have been looking for a new one. Please pray that the Lord will allow me to change employers according to His good pleasure. I have applied at 2 hospitals in my area. One is a children’s hospital. For the most part, people know I absolutely love children so working there woud be worth the long shifts (I think).

At my current job, I work in a call center setting up claims for various card based situations – fraud, overcharges, services not rendered, counterfeit… you name it. Daily, I deal with customers screaming and yelling at me, calling me extremely profane names, telling me to go to hell (which is impossible because I’ve been saved by Grace), and so on. I get tired of it. Sometimes it’s difficult for me to get up and go to work because I know what lies ahead of me. I’ve tried to change my perspective, change my outlook, but it does not seem to work. After being laid off from my previous job, I was hired at my current job 2 months later. Honestly, I had not expected to even be there as long as I have, but 6 months have passed and here I am – unhappy and wanting to get away. Please pray for me, that I may find joy in the meanwhile.

When I first came across this video a few months back, I was impressed and amazed that a nonbeliever would know more about what it means to be a Christian than a believer does. How many times does that happen ? All too often. Too many Christians are out there professing Christ without the fruit and actions to show it. This is what I believe causes SO MANY people to think that Christians are hypocrites – because there are many acting like it. I do believe, however, that not all of the people that SAY they are Christians are indeed Christians.

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’ And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’
Matthew 7:21-23 ESV

I do think that, on the day that the Lord returns for His people, there will be many surprised. I, for one, do not want to be one of those who THINKS they are saved, but is not. Woe unto those who fall into that category. Make your Salvation sure. Work it out.

Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling,
Philippians 2:12 ESV

On that note, I am going to close out my Internet Explorer, read Spurgeon, drink some hot tea, spend time in prayer, and get ready for work. Please pray that I rejoice in this day that the Lord has made regardless of my illness, my circumstance, and my disheartenment.

3 thoughts on “Sick and discouraged

  1. LaRosa says:

    prayin for ya… both your health & job situation

    lj.

  2. Chris says:

    I am praying for you, my sister in Christ. For two and a half years, I worked in the call center of a large company, and I experienced much the same treatment that you describe here. I know how hard it can be… I pray that the Lord would grant you a new job soon, if it be His will, and that He would sustain you and bring you His peace that passes our understanding in the meantime.

  3. Celah says:

    Sister I totally understand. I work in a call center now (which I happen to like) and I know it can be tough. I was in your same position 4 months ago and what I did was pray “Lord this job sucks and I don’t like it here!” and then I posted my resume on monster.com. And a month and a half and three interviews later I’m at the job of my dreams. Sister I pray that you hold tight until the change comes. Ask our father he does relocate employees to the other parts of the vineyard.

Leave a Reply

