Today’s Day

Wow, I can’t believe that it is almost the end of 2006 and the beginning of 2007. This has been a year full of growth, lessons, pains, joys, hurts, triumphs, and more. I am grateful for all that has happened this year knowing that it was nothing but the Grace of God that has allowed me to even be sitting at my computer desk typing this.

Even today, as torrents of rain fell, the Lord protected me as I was driving. Even when it got to the point where I could barely see in front of me, my Father kept me. It is an awesome thing to be kept by the Lord. It is an awesome thing to be able to make it home from work, to the movies, and back again… all while hearing sirens and seeing ambulances in my rearview mirror. Even as my car was skidding due to the puddles of water in the road, I was safe. I was unharmed. I am grateful. After leaving a bookstore tonight, I headed home using an alternate route because I didn’t want to get on the highway. I was nervous about driving in the rain, so nervous that I nearly threw up when I got in my car. I prayed and asked the Lord to protect me, turned my radio on so that I could listen to Hazakim, took a deep breath, and I drove. I am home, I am safe. I am grateful.

Over the past few days, I have witnessed the miracles of life and death. As shown in my gallery, I have fish – 2 bettas, 2 swordtails, and 2… well, ONE molly. Wednesday night, I was delighted to see my  pregnant black molly having her babies! Certain parts were disgusting, yes, but wow – To see these things almost swim out of her was quite interesting. She passed a lot of eggs, a lot of fry that weren’t fully developed. She also had 12 that seemed to be okay. The next day when I got back from work, I discovered that 9 had made it. It was wonderful to see those babies swim around in their breeder, free and happy. Later that evening, I discovered that the mother had died. I was disappointed, but, since I had only had her 13 days, I was able to take her back to PetSmart and get a new one. I decided on a pregnant silver molly. She’s quite beautiful and is now the biggest fish in the tank. Upon arriving home from work, I discovered that one of the baby mollies had somehow been attacked. I assume its tail was sticking out of the breeder allowing another fish to attack it. I was down to 8 black molly babies. I fed my adults and decided to rest for a bit before I headed to meet my friend at the movies. Before I left, I noticed my male black molly was quite still and resting on a leaf of one of the aquarium plants. Assuming he was probably dead, I stared and tapped on the glass. He moved and started to swim, seemingly fighting for his life. I watched as he took his last breath and sank to the bottom of the tank. It was sad to see, but I do understand the cycle of life and truly…

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
Ecclesiastes 3:1-2 ESV

I returned home safely and immediately checked on my baby fish. As I looked into the breeder, I saw a white one that looked JUST LIKE THEM. It didn’t click until a few seconds later – She is having her babies ALREADY! I rescued the new baby, put it in the breeder, and installed the partition so that I could add the silver molly. She ended up releasing 25 babies. Now, in addition to my 8 black ones, I have 25 silver ones, equaling 33 babies in ALL. I am SO excited to see nature in action. My FATHER is awesome and so creative! I look forward to raising my babies and watching their growth.

Let us test and examine our ways…
Lamentations 3:40 ESV

Encouraged to do so by reading the entries on Keziah’s site, I will begin to consider my ways come January 1st. My prayer is that it will cause me to put myself under a microscope so that I can be sure that I am faithful in my ways and so that I may continue to discipline myself for the purpose of Godliness and examine my life in light of Scripture.

… train yourself for godliness;
1 Timothy 4:7 ESV

I should really get to bed now. It is 2:04a and I have to be at work in less than 7 hours. I am SUCH a rebel *smirk*

I leave you with this sermon. May it edify.

2 thoughts on “Today’s Day

  1. LaRosa says:

    God is good 🙂 and life is such a glorious thing; it truly proves how magnificent and wonderful our God truly is

    lj.

  2. Keziah says:

    Hi Jenn! Ooh, it is exciting to see my name in someone’s blog! I have learned so much by going through those questions. I hope you’ll share with us what you learn.

Leave a Reply

