The LOGOS

Lately, I have been greatly minimizing my time spent on the computer. I allow myself to surf the net during downtime at work, but once I get home, the computer is powered off. I thought I’d miss it, but actually, it’s quite peaceful. I have been studying, drawing closer to God, sleeping (yay!), and reading. I am simultaneously studying the books of Isaiah and John – the beginning of my new daily Bible study plan. At any given time, I will be studying a book from the Old Testament and a book from the New Testament. I cannot say truthfully that I have read through the entire Bible, but I have read through quite a bit. So, this is my attempt to finish the entire Bible in a reasonable time. One cannot accurately follow the instructions of Christ if he / she does not KNOW them.

Currently, I am reading 2 books as well. One is a book I saw recommended on Flame’s website titled “Tell the Truth” by Will Metzger. By the Grace of God, I was browsing around in one of my FAVORITE book stores (Half Price Books) and came across it for $4.98. Yea! So of course, being the book lover I am, I purchased it. And after a conversation with a young man at PetSmart about the inerrant Word of a perfect God (something he disagreed with), I have been even more inspired to get into it… and to study the basics of other religions. How can I unarm the opposer if I don’t know what weapons to unarm ?

The other book is a Classic – Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. I have had it for a while, but am just now getting to it.

So that is my life as of late. I am, at this very moment, (and always), just so… humbled at the AWESOMENESS (yes, awesomeness) of God. Reading John last night was amazing. I only got through the 1st chapter, but it was quite meaty. And how amazing was the faith and belief of Nathanel ?! I called my best friend last night after laughing at Christ’s response to him. To those that do not know the story, let me fill you in.

So.. After Christ had called Philip to be his disciple, Philip went to Nathanael and told him that they had found the Christ, the Messiah that was spoken of in the days of old – Jesus of Nazareth. Nathanel’s response ? “Can anything good come out of Nazareth?” Philip’s reply ? “Come and see”. Nathanael followed Philip and as they walked up, Jesus said, “Behold – An Israelite in whom no deceit is found!” That prompted Nathanel to ask Jesus – “How do you know who I am?”… And Christ said to Nathanael that, before Philip called him, he was under the fig tree. And because of THIS, Nathanael believed that Jesus was the Christ, the Messiah… and in a nutshell, Jesus pretty much said, “You believe I am the Messiah because I told you that I saw you under the fig tree!? Psh! You ain’t seen nothin yet!”… Ha! Of course, Jesus didn’t say it like THAT, lol, but you get the point. I laughed with my best friend because, as I told her, Jesus was humorous. Maybe to others, not. But to me, I found a lot of His responses quite interesting. I loved the part where he was at the well w/the Samarian woman (John 4) and the disciples came with the food they’d brought Jesus from the town. “Rabbi, eat”… “I have food to eat that you don’t even know about”… and the disciples asked each other, “Did someone already bring Him some food?”

LOL!

I can just imagine the scene. Jesus was on a whooole different level with His mindset (of course – He is the Christ!) and the disciples weren’t. This narration, among many others, leaves me in awe. So many different reasons why. Gosh, I love my Jesus.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
John 1:1 ESV

And I love that verse. Replace “the Word” with “Jesus”. In the beginning was Jesus, and Jesus was with God, and Jesus was God. I love that verse b/c it describes the very deity and nature of Christ. He was not a created being nor was he a god (as the Jehovah’s Witnesses’ New World Translation Bible WRONGLY translates that verse), but Christ is God in the flesh, whom all things were created through (John 1:1-3, Hebrews 1:2-3), whom was here in the beginning. . I could go on and on about the antiBiblical doctrines of those who claim to be of Christ, but this blog would go on until Christ came back… 🙂

At any rate, I am suffering from a cold, or some respiratory issue, so… please pray that I persevere in my studies and Biblical life application.

Now that I have read my emails, updated my podcasts (got some new Ravi and Mohler), changed the music in my radio blog (from Christian contemporary to Holy hip hop) and written this blog, it is time to dive in the Inerrant and Perfect Word of God.

Soli DEO Gloria!

One thought on “The LOGOS

  1. Asia says:

    Hi Jenn, it is amazing to hear what you are doing. It’s amazing to see a women Of God getting closer to God and surrender everything to HIm. I to have been reading John and I LOVE it. I studying it my sis in christ Eva and I love that we are doing that. Somethings in the Bible I don’t understand all too well but it’s nice to know that I have someone to ask questions. I also been turning away from tv so I can spend time with God and even trying to get the tv out of my room. Because I know that I can be addicted to tv. I’m also trying that with the internet (I’m trying cuz I can get addicted to the internet). I think when you want to get closer to God you got to be welling to let things go especially when they seem to take up your time when you could be spending it with God. God Bless you sis and Keep going after God.

Leave a Reply

