Child trafficking

This is something that breaks my heart and makes me want to cry everytime I read about it.

Ever heard of child tourism ? For some reason, few people have… or few people want to pay attention. About 2 million children are slaves to the global sex trade. Some of these children are as young as 5, being forced to have sex with multiple men per day. About 25% of the partakers in this industry are U.S. citizens. Some partake while on business trips, some go specifically FOR that.

Imagine your young sister / brother / friend / niece / nephew / son / daughter being forced to have sex with grown men. Imagine the physical scars, the emotional scars, the mental scars… the LIFELONG scars and pains that these children will have to bear. Some contract diseases. Imagine that 5 year old dying from AIDS later on in life because she was forced to have sex with a 55 year old infected American male. Then imagine that same child being treated as an outcast, living alone with her shame.

Imagine that this is all real. Why ? Because it is. In Costa Rica, Thailand, Brazil, Mexico, and Cambodia, it happens everyday. It’s estimated that 1/3 of all of the prostitutes in Cambodia are children.

There’s a song by Mr. J of the hip hop group The Procussions that discusses this. It’s called “Constance”. There’s also a video that accompanies it which you can watch below.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXsnTJWlPoM

Lets pray for these children, write our congressmen, get involved. It’s truly easy not to care when we’re over here living it up in the U.S. with OUR children. It’s easy to turn a blind eye, but why take the easy route ? They need someone…

For more information, you can view the below sites:
U.S. Dept of Justice – Child Sex Tourism
Stop Child Tourism

4 thoughts on “Child trafficking

  1. Rachel says:

    Yeah, Jenn, I ain’t even gon’ lie, I read about it often, but then I try to forget what I read, or saw…actually, I try to AVOID hearing about it completely,because I always feel like there’s nothing I can DO. Because I cain’t save ’em ALL…u know? I always feel horribly guilty about that, but I forget that it’s GOD’S place to ULTIMATELY "SAVE" anyone from ANYTHING, not mine…and that I am actually blessed to be able to help out even just a tiny bit. I forget that just a tiny bit from me, or anyone else, can completely change at least ONE persons life…and doesn’t that count? Of course…at least in God’s eyes. I’m gonna check out some of these links that you have here on this issue… -Rachel

  2. ctide says:

    my sister works with a mission in thailand to get prostitutes off the streets (most were sold into the industry as children)

    its a terrible world

  3. Keven says:

    It hurt to see the hurt that occurs. Leaves me with no reason to be insecure. That’s a real issue globally and even in the states it happens but not to the same degree. I pray that the Lord of the harvest continues to keep the laborers vigilante when it comes to that particulary population. Everybody wants to get crunk but can we handle the truth of some people’s everyday existence even though it’s ugly…..great blog.

  4. Keziah says:

    Thank you for reminding us of such a terrible situation. I agree with Rachel that we try to forget about it but that, rather than become overwhelmed by the scale of it and so do nothing, we should see what we can do even if it is just a little.

Leave a Reply

