Pure religion

During the holiday seasons, we see the rush and the advertisements for feeding the homeless, providing children with gifts and love so that they’d have a happy Christmas, and so on. I understand why there is much more of a push around this time of year, but what about the rest ?

Do we feed the homeless a good Christmas meal and then let them starve the rest of the year ? Do we give the children gifts and love for the holidays and let them cry and be neglected for the rest of the year ?

I want to encourage people to look into places like World Vision, Compassion, and Christian Children’s Fund. Consider sponsoring a child monthly. Consider keeping in touch with that child, letting them know that, even though you have never met them, someone loves them. Someone wants to help them.

Write them letters, send them books, visit them even. And the homeless ? Volunteer at a shelter. If you’re ever looking for volunteer opportunities, Volunteer Match is a great place to start.

And lets not forget about the women who are in shelters because they have been treated less than loved. They need you too.

Pure and undefiled religion in the sight of {our} God and Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their distress, {and} to keep oneself unstained by the world.
Jam 1:27 NASB

I’d like to share my child with my readers. I sponsor him through Compassion. His name is Luis and he lives in Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic. He will be 10 in January. He lives with both of his parents. I would love to be able to visit him someday. It’s only $32 a month. That money would end up being wasted on something I don’t need (fast food, books, music, etc) so why not give it to someone who needs it much more than we ?

Peace.

One thought on “Pure religion

  1. Keziah says:

    Can I tell you about ‘my’ little boy? His name is Kevin, he is just recently 9 and lives in Peru. I think my favourite thin about him is that in all the photos he sends me of himself he looks SO grumpy!

Leave a Reply

