He’s Glorious

As I was on the train this morning, riding to work, listening to my music as I usually do, I pulled out my Bible and started reading. I love how God’s Word becomes instantly alive and active within me. It’s energetic.

I opened my Bible to Ephesians 4 to focus on a scripture I’d read last week (Ephesian 4:29). While there, I looked at the title of the next chapter – Be Imitators of God. What a strong command! Imitate GOD. What ? Are you serious ? What a huge charge! Sounds impossible, but if God told us to do it, we must be able to… and not by our own strength, but by the Holy Spirit working within us.

This is what I read:

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. But sexual immorality and all impurity or covetousness must not even be named among you, as is proper among saints. Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving. For you may be sure of this, that everyone who is sexually immoral or impure, or who is covetous (that is, an idolater), has no inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God. Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience. Therefore do not associate with them; for at one time you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light (for the fruit of light is found in all that is good and right and true), and try to discern what is pleasing to the Lord.
Ephesians 5:1-10 ESV

It made me think. What comes out my mouth ? Do I take part in any of these things ? What can I do to be sure that I’m not ? I did a quick self evaluation. What I found was not very pleasing, but then when again has a pruning process felt good ?

I am thankful for those times when I can see how nothing I am. To some, that may sound weird, but it really allows me to see the greatness and the glory of God. It allows me to see just how awesome, how merciful, how wonderful that He is. Even in the midst of my mess, my dirt, He still picks me up and loves me.

You know how when kids have that stuffed animal that they love so much ? They can drop it in the dirt, get food / candy on it… Its stuffing can be coming out, but no matter what the case, they still LOVE it and still love to be around it. No matter how dirty it is and how messed up it is, the child will not let it go. I am thankful that no matter how dirty I get, God loves me and will not let me go.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? As it is written, “For your sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.” No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Romans 8:35-39 ESV

I just pray that God continues to reveal Himself to me. Lately whenever I really think of Him and reflect on Him, I just feel like crying. He’s so awesome. I just love Him… not nearly enough… and I know my actions don’t always reflect it, but I am thankful for His grace and mercy. Without that, man… we’d all be dead – believer and nonbeliever. I thank Him for understanding, wisdom, and life. I thank Him for the opportunity He gave me today to share the Good News with a family member. I thank Him for sunsets because they’re beautiful…

Today, while driving home from the train station, I pulled my visor down because the sun was hurting my eyes. I had Eoghan Heaslip’s “Offering” playing and there was a line that says:

The sun can not compare to the Glory of Your love. There is no shadow in Your presence.

GOSH! As much as the Texas sun hurts my eyes, and nearly blinds me while driving, just think – That is NOTHING compared to the Glory of God. BRIGHT! Can you imagine!?

Wow, I can’t even fathom the idea of that!

And on THAT note, I am off to bed.

In Christ.

2 thoughts on “He’s Glorious

  1. Im Saved(jason) says:

    Hey Jenn, that is a nice spill right there. It is amazing to think that the all powerful, all consuming creator….loves me. With that type of love for you, earth and its problems are nothing! Glad to see the site back!

    In Christ,
    JT

  2. Onye says:

    What beautiful thoughts. God’s love really is amazing from that perspective. I’m so glad and so grateful that His love is everlasting and His mercies are new each morning.

    The site looks great. You are a blessing.

Leave a Reply

